Spicy Black Bean and Corn Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Rhonda
Reviewed: May 28, 2012
These veggie burgers turned out great. I followed the footnote and used only 2 teaspoons of chili powder. They weren't too spicy. I might kick it up to 3 teaspoons next time. The use of the flour helped give the burgers browned look and helped keep them together. I'll be making these again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhonda

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
Spicy Black Bean & Corn Burger Haiku: "Spicy, spicy yum! Oops, I forgot the flour. But liked these a bunch!" I used all the ingredients as written, but usually when I make bean (black or garbanzo) I form them into patties, then freeze them, as they go right from freezer to hot skillet and hold together cooking beautifully. That being said, I must've missed the coating them in flour part, but still ended up really liking the flavor of these alot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
My husband thinks this is much improved with 1/4 cup parmesan. I like these best as a slider, rather than a giant bean burger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
These turned out great and I liked that they didn't require egg (not a fan). I nixed the jalapeño and added spicy chili-garlic sauce (1tsp) and I used half the amount of flour (and I still had plenty left over. I also recommend making more or thinner patties, as this mixture for 4 makes huge patties. But overall, they were a huge hit with my husband (a devoted meat eater!) and also I didn't have cilantro, but I'm sure it would have been great with it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
I tried this recipe Saturday but added ground turkey and just threw all raw ingredients in with turkey and added an egg. No flour. It was wonderful!!! We only ate about half so the next day we made tacos with it. Healthy and delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
WE REALLY ENJOY THIS RECIPE..MY HUSBAND THOUGHT THEY WERE MUCH BETTER THAN THE ONES WE'VE BOUGHT IN THE PAST FROM THE GROCERY STORE..PASSING THIS RECIPE TO SEVERAL OF MY FRIENDS...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2013
This recipe was delicious! I added a few of my own things like homemade fat-free tangy mayo and of course a huge pile of caramelized onions! :) It was also great the next day as lunch, and I will surely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
This was great. We enjoyed the spicy flavors. I used 2 tsp of chili powder and that was fine for us. I also added some chopped spinach and shredded, chopped zucchini. Instead of bread crumbs, I used saltine crackers. I made a mixture of ketchup and mustard to put on top to give it a meat loaf taste and topped with delicious caramelized onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
This recipe is great.. made some changes added kale instead of corn and used fresh bread crumbs causei didnt have dried and half a lime..flavors work well together...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
I absolutely love these! I make them as often as possible! I don't always add the jalapeno, gives me heartburn occasionally. I also don't add the peppers and cilantro. Sometimes I'll add some cayenne pepper, I like the heat even if it does give me heartburn sometimes. Great recipe though! Highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Quinoa Black Bean Burgers

See how to make delicious vegetarian black bean burgers.

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

Black Bean and Corn Quesadillas

This Mexican favorite can be made easily for a quick weeknight dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States