Spicy Black Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
Wow! This is fantastic! Used chicken broth instead of water and bouillon (always) and only used 6 cups because we like hearty "stoups". Only used 1 tsp. Of salt and diced tomatoes with green chilis added. Soaked the beans overnight and threw everything in the slow cooker in the morning. Cooked all day on low and gave it a quick spin with the immersion blender. LOVED this soup. Definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
This is a great belly warming recipe. We like ours with a little less salt, so we left that out, and we like it a little spicy, so we added more Cayenne powder and a couple whole dried ones too. Cooked all day, slowly on the woodstove and it was great. Definitely make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
Way too salty and calls for the tomatoes to be added at the beginning which messes up the cooking process for dry beans. The broth had a nice flavor under the saltiness, but the salt definitely makes it inedible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by malevolentmuse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
I don't know if I did something wrong but I can tell that this recipe should be good but mine has a funny after taste kinda metallic. Any advice on what that could be and how to fix it?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
Excellent! Used andouille and celery flakes instead of celery salt, not additional salt but upped the heat with red pepper flakes. Wonderful!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
Loved this! After reading other commenters, I left out the salt completely, and swapped the ham for spicy Italian sausage (which I had on hand). I used dried beans, so only added the tomatoes after the first hour of cooking. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
Oh my gosh....this is so good! I had almost everything on hand, it took no time to prepare and it was delicious. This is one of the few times that I followed the recipe exactly and I'm glad I did. I wouldn't change a thing. Make this, you won't be sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA
Living In: Delray Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
This is really great with Chinese BBQ Pork too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jjoyce25

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Melrose, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Renton, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
I made this soup in my slow cooker following the recipe almost exactly.... I used half of the salt and added the tomatoes after the beans had cooked as others had suggested. It was fantastic...a little on the spicy side which my family loves. It is definitely a keeper. Thanks for sharing ANGCHICK !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maxy M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
After reading the reviews. I made a few changes: 1) Used low-sodium chicken broth 2) Used Smoked Turkey neck instead of ham 3) Chopped Carrots not shredded 4) No bay leaf or ground mustard, didn't have any 5) Added salsa, extra cayenne pepper, jalapeno 6) used dried beans, didn't soak . It turned out very good. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Evanston, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States