Spicy Black Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
This soup is soooo delicious. I agree it isn't very spicy, but very very flavorful. I left out the salt and used only 8 cups of water. Also, instead of covering it the entire time it cooked, I left it uncovered to help it thicken more so. You will not be sorry you tried this recipe! It's one of the best soups I've had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
This soup was delicious. Since it's just me & my husband, the batch was a multi-night meal. I omitted the regular salt when cooking it, and when reheating, I added a few more of the spices to freshen it up. It tasted just as good reheated as it did the day it was made! Thanks for the recipe!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2008
I followed this recipe (I usually use a recipe as a guide) and it was very salty. I wish I had read the review first that said to cut the salt in half, as I think that would have made it just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna P.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oconomowoc, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Saint Francis, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2008
All I can say is YUMMY! Made this soup for dinner last night and my whole family enjoyed it. I followed some of the other reviewers recommendation of adding a neckbone or ham hock to the soup and cutting back on the salt content. I omitted the salt and increased the celery salt from 1 teaspoon to 2 teaspoon. I also added more cayenne pepper to add some spice. I must say all of the ingredients for this soup was easy to find and I had the majority of it on hand. I will definitely make this soup again. The flavor is GREAT and so easy to fix! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Alabama, USA
Living In: Washougal, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2008
Wonderful recipe, very hearty. I used italian sausage and we at alone and over beans. The soup got better as the days went on. Very good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2008
This was a great combination of flavors, but the texture could use some tweaking. It wasn't as thick as I'd like. Will make it again, but will probably puree some of the beans to improve the thickness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
VERY GOOD:) I didnt have ground mustard so i used creole mustard i had in the fridge. Also I use my hand mixer and blended it all to make it thicker. Added sour cream to serve. YUM:) Only use 9 cups of water and 1 tsp of salt
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
This is a great recipe! I am used to a thicker soup so I didn't use as much water (8 cups instead of 10) and I used a pressure cooker to shorten the cooking time. I garnished it with lots of chopped fresh celantro and served it with cornbread. I liked it so much I had to make it again 2 days later!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2008
Hmmm... Do you think they meant "herby" when they said spicy? As written this is a definite 4.5 star recipe. I ended up doctoring it up with way more cayenne and after simmering for a while it seemed to thicken up to the non soup point so added a little more water. Also threw in some fresh spinach. Great flavor. Maybe next time I'll add some corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Marietta, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
This is really tasty! I halved the salt and used low sodium boullion packets. Its just right. I'll definately make this again, for company. It makes a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States