Spicy Black Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
Was not nearly as spicy as I expected. It needs more cayenne or something to spice it up. I added a can of green chiles for a little extra kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shuda

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Brookings, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
This is the best black bean soup I've ever had. It was a tad salty for me, so I will experiment with decreasing the salt by 1/2 tsp or so. I used a pound package of smoked sausage instead of the ham. Everything else I did as listed. Wow! Great soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
This was VERY good. Next time I'll put it all in the crock pot so I don't have to monitor for burning. Made brown rice to go with it and froze half as it's only my hubby and I. Definitely a Make-Again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sarasota, Florida, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FROGHOPPER
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
Wow, this is good soup! I crumbled 5 strips of bacon instead of all that ham. I also added a 1/2 tsp of cumin and omitted the celery. This is a fabulous, flavorful soup! Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FROGHOPPER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bemidji, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: May 13, 2009
Excellent! I will be making this again. Just a couple of small changes to the original recipe: made broth from a ham bone instead of using chicken broth; also, I saute'd onion in olive oil along with extra minced garlic and left out any dried garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
This is a really flavorful recipe. I had to eliminate the meat so I added about
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEEVA1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
Only changes were I omitted the celery and bay leaves. I only used 3 cups of water and threw everything in the crock pot on high for 3 hours. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
This was exceptional. It's like chili, tastes even better the second day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
I remembered (too late) the reason that tomatoes should be added at the END of the cooking: dried beans don't get soft if acid (vinegar, tomatoes, etc.) are added before the beans are soft. I thought it was odd, but followed the recipe almost exactly (no ham was wasted, at least) because of all the good reviews. When I re-read the reviews I noticed a lot of the reviewers mentioned using canned beans, and maybe others used them, also. So, important tips: Canned Beans - Use less water (go by looks, you can add more later if you need it) and a lot less salt. No need to cook 2 hours. Carrots - I followed the recipe and I thought the grated carrots looked very unappetizing in the cooked soup. Chopped work much better. Dried beans - Either soak the beans overnight, or quick soak (boil 10 minutes, then let sit covered for and hour). DO NOT ADD TOMATOES until the beans are soft. TOO LATE? If you've already been cooking the recipe as written for 2 to 3 hours when you read this, and still can't stomach the firm beans, you can put the beans in a blender if you didn't add the ham. I used some of the blended beans to make the Black Bean Vegetable Soup from the site. If I hadn't had those additional ingredients I would have had to order pizza.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
I made this as written. It was so salty I couldn't eat it. Looking again at the recipe I should have known: 2 tsp salt, 1 tsp celery salt, 2 boullion cubes, and pound of ham - no wonder! I will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Antoinette Katora

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: College Point, New York, USA
Living In: East Brunswick, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States