Spicy Black Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2010
Just finished this. Wish I had read the reviews first!!! (I usually do). Ok, Next time, I will not add the salt, add cayenne to taste (I ended up uses a ton more, but I didn't measure it). Blend about 2/3 of the "soup" then sitr it all together. I had to add three more cups of water too, but it's delicious!!! Also, will add the tomatoes at the end... my beans are a little tough
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
Made it as written and it was absolutely terrific!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madeira, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
Used my leftover Easter ham bone. The grated carrots totally disappeared in this soup, so I would slice them instead. Despite the name. I did not find this spicy at all, but it was pleasantly seasoned. This did make a ton of soup, and by the end of the week we were getting a pretty tired of this. I would either cut this recipe in half or plan on freezing some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salisbury, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
Spicy but not too much so was family friendly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
We used our Easter ham hock and it was incredibly delicious!!! Five Stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
I'm giving this a 4 instead of a 5 because I read the reviews beforehand and cut way back on the salt as suggested by others. If I hadn't, it would have been entirely too salty. The only other thing I did differently (again to cut down on sodium) was to replace the chicken bouillon and some of the water with reduced sodium chicken broth. This was a tasty soup and I will definitely make it again. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
This soup has excellent, full flavor. One of the better black bean soup renditions I have had. I made a few changes for my likes and what I had on hand: CHANGES 4 cans of beans, rinsed, only 4 cups of water, replaced the ham with 12 slices of turkey bacon, skipped the carrots, 2 diced roma tomatoes, and 2T tomato paste, 1/2 the salt fish sauce instead of worchetershire sauce. ADDITIONS 1/4 t Epizote (mexican spice with enzymes to help digest the beans and stop or diminish unwanted after effects), 2T honey Next time I think I'll add a jalepeno to the mix. This is so good I think I'll make a pot for the family gathering this weekend! Try it you will enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
Delicious! Enjoyed by the whole family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
This was just ok for me. Don't think I will try this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRESAB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Martinsville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Midland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
The end result was too soupy looking so I added rice - and it turned out to be a black bean and rice stew.....it was delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sterling, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States