Spicy Black Bean Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
I used organic black beans and organic canned corn that I rinsed and drained really well before using in this recipe. I cut way back on the cilantro because I had homemade salsa that already had a whole bunch in it. Instead of lemon juice, I used fresh lime juice. Other than that, I kept every thing else the same. This is FABULOUS. I literally could not stop eating it. My oldest son and husband also really liked it, too though my husband did say that he would enjoy this more if he could scoop it up with tortilla chips! Very VERY good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
I liked this recipe but did make a few changes. I decreased olive oil to about 3 tablespoons vs 1/2 cup and used juice of 1 lime vs the lemon. I also added a diced a red pepper, a hot pepper and a hint of sugar. I think once it is chilled it will taste even better! So easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
We really liked this but I used just half the amount of olive oil called for. Also, while I did have it sitting out for me to use, it was only after I had made the salad that I noticed I forgot to add the salsa. No matter - it was light and delicious without.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
I like to brown cumin in a skillet first and use fresh cooked or freezer corn. This dish is amazing w/ a chip, on fish, tacos, chicken or just by itself! Thank you for your share I lost my original recipe which was very similar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
Yummy! Headed to a potluck event and pondering thoughts of what dish would hold up and be yummy at the same time. This one works with the assistance of some tweaking. I added one fresh tomato chopped, an English cucumber, chopped and made fresh salsa. FRESH SALSA: One can of stewed tomatoes, half jalapeno,two cloves garlic, 2 Tablespoons of chopped onion, a couple of Tablespoons of cilantro and a dash of salt.Make sure you use stew tomatoes. They add a touch of sweetness. The fresh salsa makes this dish taste really good. Did not add the extra garlic to the salad recipe since it is in the homemade salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
this is fantastic with shrimp added and served over a bed of lettuce and a squeeze of lime juice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
The spicy black bean salad was a great success. I used the the not salsa and gave it a real spicy taste. It is a good side dish to add to your menu especially when you have guest who are vegetarian or vegan. It is a good summer salad and not difficult to make. It will be used again this summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
I tried this recipe as is and it was great! I really like different kinds of beans, so the next time I made it, I used white beans and pinto beans in addition to the black beans. Like many of the reviews, I used less olive oil than the 1/2c called for. I love red onions, but the second time, I did not use a whole onion as I felt a whole onion was a little over-powering. Great recipe though. I count calories, so the only thing that was unclear to me is what serving size is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
excellent. I added bell pepper and I couldn't stop eating it. Best if chilled for 4-5 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2013
Made this to be a filling for some burritos. It was so yummy! And my vegetarian daughter loved this. Definitely let this chill for a couple of hours. The flavors blend very nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Black Bean and Couscous Salad

See how to make a Southwest-style couscous salad with a tangy vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States