Spicy Black Bean Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
I thought this recipe was okay, but like many reviewers, I didn't like so much oil. What I did was to substitute the oil with a half cup of Bolthouse Ranch dressing (only 45 calories for 2 T. Yogurt based, found in the refrigerated case at stores). I used 1 can of black beans plus the can of corn and 1 cup of chopped red onions, 1/4 cup chopped fresh cilantro, coarse ground pepper, and 1/4 cup of grated Parmesan cheese. Sometimes I add a cup of jicama, chopped, for crunch and 1 cup of quartered grape or cherry tomatoes, when in season. A squeeze of fresh lime juice and refrigerate. I do not add the garlic and salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
I make this recipe all the time. It is just me so I make half a batch each time. It is great for a quick lunch just by itself. I also took it to our Drop in potluck and everybody loved it! Had to make more when I got home as there was none left. I will try the less oil and as I have trouble getting fresh cilantro the dried works too. Mixes well with rice or quinoa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
This was really DELISH!! The only changed I made was used imported Spanish sherry vinegar as I did not have any red wine vinegar... The flavor was amazing!! I will for sure use this vinegar the next time I make this... I made this to go along with my carnitas meat and cilantro lime rice.. I just layered in a bowl to make burrito bowls... Fantastic!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook32

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
Very good! Used a 1/3 of the onion and 1/2 of the oil, plus no cilantro. Just personal taste. I ate as a side, put on cheeseburger for topping or ate with tortilla chips. Easy and Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
I could not stop eating it! I added tomato. I think I could eat breakfast, lunch and dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
This is so good with tortilla chips! Thanks for sharing this recipe:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
Made this for a party this weekend and it really great! The only thing I changed from the original recipe was cutting down the olive oil to 1/4 cup as others suggested. Making it the night before was a good idea--it tasted fantastic the day I served it and was a big hit with the vegetarians in the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
Oh my goodness! I just finished making this and when I tasted it, I almost skipped the refrigeration part, LOL! It's delicious. I prepared it following the directions exactly with the exception of the amount of oil. I only used 1/4 cup. Thank you for sharing such a delicious recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2013
At Norma's, 50 oz bn, bag of Cn, half oil, added cayenne, used dried garlic, chi chi med salsa 3/4 jar, more cumin, vin. Chopped on and cil together, no tears
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gurnee, Illinois, USA
Living In: Davenport, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
Made this for Father's Day. Put it together in a matter of minutes--made the recipe exactly as posted. I let it sit all night in the frig because my experience is that most cold bean salads are best after 24 hours. I used fresh salsa that I purchased in the produce section at the supermarket, not the bottled type sold by the tortilla chips. This one is definitely a keeper; it is delicious. It's spicy but not too spicy, a little bit crunchy because of the red onion, has lovely color and texture, and makes a great side to barbecue. I will definitely make this recipe many times in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Black Bean and Couscous Salad

See how to make a Southwest-style couscous salad with a tangy vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States