Spicy Black Bean Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
Oh my goodness! I just finished making this and when I tasted it, I almost skipped the refrigeration part, LOL! It's delicious. I prepared it following the directions exactly with the exception of the amount of oil. I only used 1/4 cup. Thank you for sharing such a delicious recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2013
At Norma's, 50 oz bn, bag of Cn, half oil, added cayenne, used dried garlic, chi chi med salsa 3/4 jar, more cumin, vin. Chopped on and cil together, no tears
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gurnee, Illinois, USA
Living In: Davenport, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
Made this for Father's Day. Put it together in a matter of minutes--made the recipe exactly as posted. I let it sit all night in the frig because my experience is that most cold bean salads are best after 24 hours. I used fresh salsa that I purchased in the produce section at the supermarket, not the bottled type sold by the tortilla chips. This one is definitely a keeper; it is delicious. It's spicy but not too spicy, a little bit crunchy because of the red onion, has lovely color and texture, and makes a great side to barbecue. I will definitely make this recipe many times in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2013
Way too much olive oil. I used only half the amount. Otherwise great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carol

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westminster, Maryland, USA
Living In: Finksburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2013
I make a very similiar dip. I use fresh corn, cut off the cob and pan roasted to a golden brown, dice a couple roma tomatoes and I use toasted ground cumin seeds. Hmmm... delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
Yummy! Headed to a potluck event and pondering thoughts of what dish would hold up and be yummy at the same time. This one works with the assistance of some tweaking. I added one fresh tomato chopped, an English cucumber, chopped and made fresh salsa. FRESH SALSA: One can of stewed tomatoes, half jalapeno,two cloves garlic, 2 Tablespoons of chopped onion, a couple of Tablespoons of cilantro and a dash of salt.Make sure you use stew tomatoes. They add a touch of sweetness. The fresh salsa makes this dish taste really good. Did not add the extra garlic to the salad recipe since it is in the homemade salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2013
We had it first as a side to chicken. My 15 year old son said it was dangerous, when I told him it was good for him, the "Hello!" was heartfelt. We had it with friends as a salsa it was even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Ridgefield, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2013
This is a decent recipe as written. The dressing is very good (I cut the oil in half and used lime instead of lemon juice) However next time I will add fresh chopped bell pepper and tomato and omit the salsa. The salsa seemed to overpower the taste of the dressing. If time allows, marinate as long as possible. Thanks, this is a keeper for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy_in_TN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2013
I'm always looking for healthy sides/salads and this fits the bill. My guy loved it! It's definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2013
Made this to be a filling for some burritos. It was so yummy! And my vegetarian daughter loved this. Definitely let this chill for a couple of hours. The flavors blend very nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Texas, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Black Bean and Couscous Salad

See how to make a Southwest-style couscous salad with a tangy vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States