Spicy Black Bean Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
Very good. It was a hit at the UMCK choir potluck. Used half as much oil as called for, and substituted Adobo with cumin for the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
This recipe is wonderful, only change I made was to use only 3 tablespoons of oil as suggested by others. My husband said it is the best salad he has ever tasted. I think it tastes better on the day it is made. Thank you for the post
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Irene Graver

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
Really great recipe! Will taste even better once it has time to chill. I added chopped orange bell pepper and reduced the garlic to 2 instead of 3 cloves. The cilantro just gives it such a fresh taste. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
This was great! Halved the recipe, used homemade salsa and a little less oil (per other reviewers' suggestions). Took it to "lunch with the girls" and everyone enjoyed it. It's great for last minute as most of the ingredients are on hand. Thanks, kmhammer, for a simple, healthy salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pearce, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
Really good recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
Simple,delicious and easy to throw together. I prefer to use green onions instead of red, though. Oh, the olive oil may very well solidify in the fridge, so let it sit out a few minutes before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2014
This was really good! A great summer recipe! I made it to go with fish tacos...a yummy dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TBARVICH
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
Needed a salad In a hurry . This worked out great and it tasted even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
Awesome salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
I thought this recipe was okay, but like many reviewers, I didn't like so much oil. What I did was to substitute the oil with a half cup of Bolthouse Ranch dressing (only 45 calories for 2 T. Yogurt based, found in the refrigerated case at stores). I used 1 can of black beans plus the can of corn and 1 cup of chopped red onions, 1/4 cup chopped fresh cilantro, coarse ground pepper, and 1/4 cup of grated Parmesan cheese. Sometimes I add a cup of jicama, chopped, for crunch and 1 cup of quartered grape or cherry tomatoes, when in season. A squeeze of fresh lime juice and refrigerate. I do not add the garlic and salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Black Bean and Couscous Salad

See how to make a Southwest-style couscous salad with a tangy vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States