Spicy Black Bean Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
Loved it. We mixed in a few serranos with the jalapeños to make it a little spicier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
Big hit with everyone, especilly my non-potato salad eating dad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
Favorite at the party! I used only 1 cup of mayo, enough to cover the potatoes well. Otherwise seems like overkill on mayo. I didn't use the mustard or gr. pepper. I doubled the green onions, black beans and used hot sauce instead of Cajun seasoning. Also added crushed garlic and fiery 5 pepper spice. I saved a handful of bacon, onion and black bean to garnish the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MMB
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
A great variation of an old favorite! Changes I made: used 10 potatoes, left the peels on and diced them before cooking; skipped the bacon, jalapenos, salt and pepper; doubled the green onion and cajun seasoning; used only about 3/4 cup lowfat mayo. I was skeptical of the green peppers, but ended up really enjoying them. My boyfriend added canned jalapenos to his serving but was diappointed with them. Next time he'll try fresh instead. We both agree that we want to try adding extra mustard and possibly add some diced celery and olives next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Depoe Bay, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2012
I make this every time I smoke ribs. They go great together!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cometbubba

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
This is AMAZING!.. The egg tip was the best thing for me!.. Flavor is everything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
I started making this recipe last year and it has been requested at every family gathering and Holiday since then. I use more or less on the jalopenos depending on the crowd im feeding ( My inlaws are Hispanic and my family is not) so i talylor the spicyness to the crowd. I boil my potatos and mix up the other ingredients seperate the day before and chill them overnight then mix it together fresh the morning of our meal and it is real fast. LoVE IT!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
I loved this, but not hubby. I'd make it again in a heartbeat, but I can't justify the work for only myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hubbard, Ohio, USA
Living In: Vienna, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
Absolutely loved it. Had to use Dijon mustard as I had no brown and added a combination of light mayo and sour cream a bit at a time to cover. This is a definite keeper and I bet it will be even better to-morrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Freelton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
I normally don't like potato salad and I just realized why---everyone always slathers it in mayo! I used way less mayo than called for, just enough to cover the potatoes and really like this recipe. The only other tweaks were for vegetarian reasons--no eggs and bacon salt instead of bacon. I think the black beans and cajun seasoning are definite musts for me to eat potato salad in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Black Bean and Couscous Salad

See how to make a Southwest-style couscous salad with a tangy vinaigrette.

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States