Spicy Black Bean Empanadas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
AWESOME recipe! I made them for a party and they were the first to disappear! Very easy to make and even easier to enjoy. My husband is always asking me to make more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danielle

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
This was great. I read that a lot of reviewers had to increase the seasonings so i went ahead and used chorizo instead of plain sausage... there was no need to even think about messing with the seasonings. My husband loved it along with salsa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momof2angels

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: League City, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
Fantastic recipe, we will make this often! My suggestion, double the recipe and freeze the extra for awesome easy meals later! Only modifications were using of ground beef instead of pork and increasing the cumin, chili powder and crushed pepper by about 50%. We also made our own dough; had more filling than dough so should have increased dough recipe by about 50% as well (recipe had 2.25 cups flour, so we should have increased to around 3.25).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
Very tasty. I omitted the pork and added corn and kidney beans to the black beans. Also used pepperjack cheese and used salsa instead of tomato sauce. I had no problems with the puff pastry, just don't let it get too soft. Made 8 medium sized empanadas. Froze the leftovers. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
I made these for dinner and made 5 large empanadas instead of making small ones. I also used ground pork. It was incredible! I will make these for years to come!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
Really good and easy to make. I did make some changes, starting with making 1/2 the recipe since I didn't need the full amount. I'm vegetarian so I left out the pork and used a full can of black beans instead. I had already starting making this when I realized that i didn't have tomato sauce so I used salsa instead, and it added fantastic flavor. I really enjoyed this recipe, I ate it as a meal by adding a salad with margarita dressing (from this site) but I know these would make great appetizers for a party. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: College Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
Very tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Not impressed w/the flavor. Needs all the fixings
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
Very tasty. I used some left over pastry dough from a pie I made rather than the sheets. The stuffing was delicious. I wish I would have made the circles larger though, that way I could put more inside each empanada.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Stillwater, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
I made these for a party and they where a hit, my family loves them so will definetly make them again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hanan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage & Stuffing Criss-Cross Pastry

See how to make an elegant stuffed puff pastry main dish!

Holiday Brie en Croute

See how to make this special holiday appetizer.

Smokey Sausage Cups

See how to make sausage in bite-size Pepperidge Farm® Puff Pastry cups.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States