Spicy Black Bean Empanadas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
In a pinch for a potluck, able to throw this together - used veggie meat (Morningstar breakfast patties) instead, and even layed pastry dough out flat on bottom and another layer on top of filling, pre-cut and baked! Very Yummy! Always have pastry dough handy in freezer :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
Delicious!!! They were smaller than I expected so they took a little extra work, but they were worth it. These make a great appetizer for any party. I made some lager ones and we had them for dinner. The recipe is very versatile so you can easily substitute the meats or make them vegetarian. So yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by manna0683

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watauga, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
really, really good! and very easy to make. I only used half of the recipe though, as it was served as one of several appetizers for a party of 20.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2009
Very good recipe! These empanadas were delicious! I want to make some more tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Super Mami

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
I am guessing that these were great because they were gone before I even had one, and every one said they loved them. but my husband dousnt like spicy to much so I used a less hot pepper and no crushed red pepper and he said they were perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tlindquist

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
These were excellent, very time consuming but worth it. Used 1 cup cheddar chesse and 1/2 cup of mozzarella cheese instead and doubled the green onions. Made again but to save time instead of using the pastry shells we just put the meat-cheese mixture over white rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
OMGH i loveee it xDDD
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
This is so delicious! I followed the recipe exactly and although laborious, totally worth it. After I baked them, I stored them in the refrigerator. When I wanted to reheat them, I microwaved for 30 seconds, popped them in the toaster oven, and the puff pastry puffed and crisped very nicely. I have made a few times since and just put the filling in tortillas. I have also substituted refried beans for the meat and it was quite tasty! Thanks for the lovely recipe. My husband was skeptical...but now says "I've never had a good empanada until now."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
Amazing! All three kids and hubby devoured them. My 2 year old was eating the filling out of the bowl with a spoon almost faster than I could make the empanada. Followed the recipe as written and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Enumclaw, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
These were awesome! Served them with chicken tortilla soup V from this site. I substituted store bought pie dough instead of the puff pastry and they turned out great and saved me some time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Streamwood, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage & Stuffing Criss-Cross Pastry

See how to make an elegant stuffed puff pastry main dish!

Holiday Brie en Croute

See how to make this special holiday appetizer.

Smokey Sausage Cups

See how to make sausage in bite-size Pepperidge Farm® Puff Pastry cups.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States