Spicy Black Bean Empanadas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
In a pinch for a potluck, able to throw this together - used veggie meat (Morningstar breakfast patties) instead, and even layed pastry dough out flat on bottom and another layer on top of filling, pre-cut and baked! Very Yummy! Always have pastry dough handy in freezer :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
This was great. I read that a lot of reviewers had to increase the seasonings so i went ahead and used chorizo instead of plain sausage... there was no need to even think about messing with the seasonings. My husband loved it along with salsa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momof2angels

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: League City, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
really, really good! and very easy to make. I only used half of the recipe though, as it was served as one of several appetizers for a party of 20.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
Very tasty. I omitted the pork and added corn and kidney beans to the black beans. Also used pepperjack cheese and used salsa instead of tomato sauce. I had no problems with the puff pastry, just don't let it get too soft. Made 8 medium sized empanadas. Froze the leftovers. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
Fantastic recipe, we will make this often! My suggestion, double the recipe and freeze the extra for awesome easy meals later! Only modifications were using of ground beef instead of pork and increasing the cumin, chili powder and crushed pepper by about 50%. We also made our own dough; had more filling than dough so should have increased dough recipe by about 50% as well (recipe had 2.25 cups flour, so we should have increased to around 3.25).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
Very tasty. I used some left over pastry dough from a pie I made rather than the sheets. The stuffing was delicious. I wish I would have made the circles larger though, that way I could put more inside each empanada.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Stillwater, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
I didn't make them into circles, I just did squares to not waste the dough. These were fantastic. Flaky with just the right amount of stuffing. My boys loved them. This recipe is a keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kent, Ohio, USA
Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SUBLIMEMIND82
Reviewed: May 25, 2010
I followed this recipe closely but I instead filled 12 Goya Premade Empanada Disks (baked 400 for 15-20mins) - I only had a tablespoon of filling leftover so it was perfect. I also used about a cup of frozen mixed bell peppers instead of fresh. My husband, who just yesterday said he has only ever heard of dessert empanadas and was unsure of savory ones, ate 5! Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUBLIMEMIND82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
Only used one package of Puff Pastry and cut into 8 squares. Accidentally put the entire can of black beans in. Used ground chicken. And they STILL turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grace T.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by April
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
I made these as part of a Halloween feast that was zombie themed. (they were made into "intestines", gross!) But despite their intentional gross appearance, they were a delicious hit that didn't last long! I've made them several times since then in a more conventional shape ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Victoria, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Sausage & Stuffing Criss-Cross Pastry

See how to make an elegant stuffed puff pastry main dish!

Holiday Brie en Croute

See how to make this special holiday appetizer.

Smokey Sausage Cups

See how to make sausage in bite-size Pepperidge Farm® Puff Pastry cups.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States