Spicy Black Bean Empanadas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
This is so delicious! I followed the recipe exactly and although laborious, totally worth it. After I baked them, I stored them in the refrigerator. When I wanted to reheat them, I microwaved for 30 seconds, popped them in the toaster oven, and the puff pastry puffed and crisped very nicely. I have made a few times since and just put the filling in tortillas. I have also substituted refried beans for the meat and it was quite tasty! Thanks for the lovely recipe. My husband was skeptical...but now says "I've never had a good empanada until now."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2009
Yum! I used green bell pepper and pinto beans because they are what I had on hand but the filling is just great! I froze some in pie crust (trying to use up before it expires)... I think they will be great from frozen state too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: May 8, 2009
Very good recipe! These empanadas were delicious! I want to make some more tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Super Mami

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
OMGH i loveee it xDDD
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
really, really good! and very easy to make. I only used half of the recipe though, as it was served as one of several appetizers for a party of 20.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
These were excellent, very time consuming but worth it. Used 1 cup cheddar chesse and 1/2 cup of mozzarella cheese instead and doubled the green onions. Made again but to save time instead of using the pastry shells we just put the meat-cheese mixture over white rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
In a pinch for a potluck, able to throw this together - used veggie meat (Morningstar breakfast patties) instead, and even layed pastry dough out flat on bottom and another layer on top of filling, pre-cut and baked! Very Yummy! Always have pastry dough handy in freezer :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
This is a great recipe. I have made them twice and the labor seems to be loved by everyone. I really don't get to eat many. I have not worked too much with puff pastry, but it was a little difficult to work with and may have taken me a little longer than normal to do. I think after practice I would be able to make these very quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lisle, Illinois, USA
Living In: Middleton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2008
This recipe was great. I love the flaky crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-49 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage & Stuffing Criss-Cross Pastry

See how to make an elegant stuffed puff pastry main dish!

Holiday Brie en Croute

See how to make this special holiday appetizer.

Smokey Sausage Cups

See how to make sausage in bite-size Pepperidge Farm® Puff Pastry cups.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States