Spicy Black Bean Empanadas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
These were a complete HIT. I made then ahead and froze them. I used a Seal-a-meal to freeze them. They came out not as puffy as freshly baked, but I think better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
Super tasty but also really time consuming to make. I had about 15 guests and had a ton of these little guys left over but no worries, my teenage boys ate them all after the party. Super yummy with the guacamole and sourcream. Also I didn't add the red pepper flakes because I had breast feeding moms in attendance and didn't want to make trouble for them lol. Anyhoo, really yummy but give yourself pleanty of time to assemble these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April D.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
AWESOME! My whole family LOVES this recipe, including my 14 month old son. I wouldn't change a thing besides adding some salsa on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
I am guessing that these were great because they were gone before I even had one, and every one said they loved them. but my husband dousnt like spicy to much so I used a less hot pepper and no crushed red pepper and he said they were perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tlindquist

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
Makes a lot! They were very good though. I froze the leftovers hopefully they will re-bake nicely
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Raway Condon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hastings, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
I won't use as much cilantro as it calls for next time but it was a superb empanada besides that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
I added Morningstar Farms's Grillers crumbles into the bean mixture, as well as mexican-style cheese. The empanadas themselves were good, but I have no IDEA how this could make 40 empanadas out of two packages of the puff pastry. I could barely get 15. Needless to say I ended up with a lot of filling left over. Next time I think I'll cut that part of the recipe in half. Also, I found that working with the puff pastry when it's still partially frozen helps a lot. It's really hard to move without messing up the empanada when it's too soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
Delicious!!! They were smaller than I expected so they took a little extra work, but they were worth it. These make a great appetizer for any party. I made some lager ones and we had them for dinner. The recipe is very versatile so you can easily substitute the meats or make them vegetarian. So yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by manna0683

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watauga, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
These were awesome! Served them with chicken tortilla soup V from this site. I substituted store bought pie dough instead of the puff pastry and they turned out great and saved me some time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Streamwood, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
Amazing! All three kids and hubby devoured them. My 2 year old was eating the filling out of the bowl with a spoon almost faster than I could make the empanada. Followed the recipe as written and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Enumclaw, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage & Stuffing Criss-Cross Pastry

See how to make an elegant stuffed puff pastry main dish!

Holiday Brie en Croute

See how to make this special holiday appetizer.

Smokey Sausage Cups

See how to make sausage in bite-size Pepperidge Farm® Puff Pastry cups.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States