Spicy Black Bean Empanadas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
Very easy, very tasty recipe! I added jack cheese for a little extra zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
This is a wonderful recipe. I have made these several times now, also with beef. I have also bought the Goya empanada wrappers and fried them. It's a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
I always have leftover filling, but that's great for sandwiches or over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
I'm not sure what to make of all the positive reviews. The pastry sheets called for in this recipe were not very easy to work with. Too sticky. They also are not very fitting for the dish. They would be better for a dessert. The filling was okay, nothing special, but the pastry made it very odd and hardly worth eating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
These were delicious, but in an effort to prepare ahead, I made these several hours before my dinner party. By the time they were ready to be served, the puff pastry had fallen a little and was greasy. Next time I'll try rolling it a little thicker, and baking them at the last minute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corner Brook, Newfoundland, Canada
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
I didn't make them into circles, I just did squares to not waste the dough. These were fantastic. Flaky with just the right amount of stuffing. My boys loved them. This recipe is a keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Crystal Ilg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kent, Ohio, USA
Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
I made and froze these three weeks in advance of my son's Rehearsal Dinner. I must say that it took all of an hour plus. I struggled with the puff pastry and was finally so frustrated that I stopped making the bite size empanada and made a big one for dinner from the rest. I asked myself if the empanadas were worth the effort. I had the answer at the Rehearsal Dinner. They disappeared so quickly that neither my husband or I even even had one. People loved them! (Even my fussy son!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
AMAZING flavor! I would use this in anything! Combine with rice and would make a great enchillada filling or throw on nachos...mmmm. Kids LOVED it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SUBLIMEMIND82
Reviewed: May 25, 2010
I followed this recipe closely but I instead filled 12 Goya Premade Empanada Disks (baked 400 for 15-20mins) - I only had a tablespoon of filling leftover so it was perfect. I also used about a cup of frozen mixed bell peppers instead of fresh. My husband, who just yesterday said he has only ever heard of dessert empanadas and was unsure of savory ones, ate 5! Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUBLIMEMIND82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: May 6, 2010
Really good! The filling was fantastic. Instead of pre-bought I made my own dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sausage & Stuffing Criss-Cross Pastry

See how to make an elegant stuffed puff pastry main dish!

Holiday Brie en Croute

See how to make this special holiday appetizer.

Smokey Sausage Cups

See how to make sausage in bite-size Pepperidge Farm® Puff Pastry cups.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States