Spicy Black Bean Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
Delicious!!!I altered the recipe a little by taking away the jalapeno, as I am very sensitive to spicey food, anyway the cakes were delicious, I did add an extra egg, which made it very moist. This is a keeper and the teens loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Charlotte Amalie, Saint Thomas, U. S. Virgin Islands
Living In: Glenn Dale, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
These were absolutely amazing. We like spice, but I felt 2 jalepenos were fine - and I was happy I made that choice. Didn't have a problem with the uncooked sweet potato. This got my take-out happy fiance to eat and enjoy something healthy - this will become a week night staple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
Love this recipe! I always double or triple the recipe because they refrigerate and/or freeze wonderfully. I did add additional spices (coriander, chile powder, cilantro) to give it more kick. One time I only had one can of black beans so substituted with a can of pinto beans and the result was great. There was no real difference in the final taste. I soften the grated sweet potatoes in the microwave as others suggested & also softened the black beans to make mashing easier. And, used two eggs as others suggested. Because I like my green onions fresh and crispy, I added those to the lime sour cream with a little fresh cilantro and used sweet onions in the cakes. I baked mine at 425 degrees for time indicated instead of broiling. I prefer a moister patty. Wonderful recipe.....LOVE IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bex

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cripple Creek, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
I held back on the heat with these since I didn't know how spicy my guests liked their food, but they were still delicious. Next time I will crank up the jalapeno and cumin. the sweet potato adds a faint sweetness that gives a nice balance with the spice. And the lime sour cream really is a must.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
I didn't have any jalapenos so I used chipotles. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
noone liked it but me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
Too spicy for our 4 year old, but my husband and I loved this recipe! I followed it as written and the cakes turned out moist and flavorful. We didn't have any trouble at all with the sweet potato being hard/undercooked. The 1 egg seemed to bind the mixture well enough. The sour cream mixture was superb with the cakes--definitely try it as well. Excellent new recipe that will made it to the dinner table regularly from now on. Thanks! **Note: I used 2 semi-large sweet potatoes (grated them in a food processor) and they yielded 6 cups. I froze the extra two 2c measurements and hope they will use well next time I make the cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FoodObsessedMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Abingdon, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
awesome made according to recipe.wouldnt change a thing i did had a slice of Harvatti cheese melted on top..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PTMUGUCA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watertown, New York, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
solid recipe, I cut back on the jalapeno since my family doesn't like too much heat. still enough kick. will make again....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Shelton, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
Great recipe! Because I am a vegan I omitted the egg and added an egg substitute. Didn't take away from the flavor at or consistency at all! I also added some diced cilantro to the cakes as well at the sauce... I find cilantro adds a great compliment to any Spanish inspired dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 202) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

Black Bean and Couscous Salad

See how to make a Southwest-style couscous salad with a tangy vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States