Spicy Black Bean Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
my oven must run a little hotter than most because after 5 minutes they were nearly on fire. Despite this, they turned out great. I added chopped cilantro to the sour cream which turned out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
These were great! I used some cucumber raita I'd made, instead of the sour cream with lime, and they were even tastier!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
I would eat these every day if I could - they are soooooooooo good! I've gotten my sister addicted to these too. If you're using dry beans, make sure you cook them through very very well and mash them very very well, or you will have spicy black bean hash instead of cakes. Fantabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
Mmmmmm, these are good! The only change I made was after I shredded the sweet potato, I cooked it in a skillet for just a few minutes to soften. Also used green chiles instead of jalapeno bc that's what I had on hand and less than 1/2 cup of bread crumbs to save some calories. Reheated well the next day, which is a bonus to me! Good recipe, will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portage, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
This recipe is great! I usually make it as it it written but, I have also used it as a stuffing for portobello mushroom caps. It was an awesome main entree. I made it totally vegan for friends by using silken tofu with a bit of extra lime juice for the sauce, matzo meal instead of traditional breads crumbs and oat flour for a binder. It didn't change the flavor one bit. It's a permanent fixture in my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amorette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
Boil the potatoes! These were great. I decided that boiling the potatoes was easier than grating them so that's what I did. The cakes held together well. Not fond of cumin so I used smoked paprika instead. No bread crumbs. I made half a recipe of the cakes using two medium sweet potatoes. I made a whole recipe of the sour cream sauce and added an avocado to that. I used a stick blender to puree the sauce. I had sauce left over but it made a yummy salad dressing for the next day. The leftover cakes were delicious right out of the frig.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
These are tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
despite my intstincts I made this recipe as is. It turned out dry and stringy. I did not like it. The idea was there but there are a lot of things i would change to make it again. I would bake or boil the sweet potatos before hand, mash them and then add the black beans and put through a food processor to create a smooth mixture. Add all the rest of the ingreediants except the bread crumbs and then roll balls into crumbs and bake that way. I think it will come out much better the next time i make it using the above directions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily<3's2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
i made these for a pot luck, and while they were well received, i would not call them "spicy". i made them appetizer sized and got about 40 little cakes. i sprayed the cakes with olive oil and browned them in a non-stick skillet, which gave them a nice crispy crust without any mess (or risk of burning!) i did add a second egg - they would have been too dry without - and i used gluten-free breadcrumbs. will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
Yummy! These were delicious. I've also subbed in lentils for the black beans which was a success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karrie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bumpass, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 203) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

Quinoa Black Bean Burgers

See how to make delicious vegetarian black bean burgers.

Black Bean and Couscous Salad

See how to make a Southwest-style couscous salad with a tangy vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States