Spicy Black Bean Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
This came out very dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
I loved these. I salute onions, garlic, red peppers then add to beans. makes a great black bean burger also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
These are very good. To make these vegan omit the egg and use cashew cream or vegan mayo for the lime cream. As many reviewers recommended I cooked the sweet potato and mashed it before adding it. I added canned green chilies to the bean mixture to make up for the missing egg moisture. I cooked this in non stick pan instead of the broiler- It was just too hot to turn on the broiler. We will have these again. mmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
amazing and versatile recipe. You don't need to microwave your sweet potatoes, they cook up nicely in the oven. I recommend adding green pepper and cilantro to the sour cream. I also added half the green pepper to the cakes. I would recommend making this cakes flat because they will crisp up better while broiling. I'm a lacto-vegetarian and I don't eat eggs...I just added a bit more bread crumbs and they held together just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristy Parker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Porte City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Waterloo, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
These were great and very easy. We grilled the cakes for about the same amount of time and it worked really well. I also added a bit of salsa to the sour cream mix and liked the results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
Great recipe. I don't like sour cream so instead I used salsa. They really don't need any kind of dip or topping but it did add a little something extra.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Medina, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
Great flavour and LOVE the sauce but they kept falling apart (and I made them app sized).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
I sauteed some garlic, jalepeno peppers as suggested, then in one bowl, took a half of can of black beans, some garlic and seasonings, along with the egg, some flour and breadcrumbs, mixed it all together and made patties. Once made, I fried in canola oil. It was soo amazing. My mixture generated 3 burgers. One I ate and two I left for dinner and lunch for another day. Thanks for the great recipe. Oh i forgot i added the fat free sour cream but didn't add jalepenos. I was too fast for myself. These are sooo good. Since I didn't have the yam, i skipped adding that. Will try that on the next go around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chicago Cook Gurl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2010
I have already made these twice! As others have said the lime sauce makes all the difference. This is full of flavor and would make a great starter for dinner parties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cricrinapoli

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Newington, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2010
Great recipe. I made the cakes as written except used serrano and anaheim chiles from my garden, the jalapenos aren't producing yet. :-) Also I had panko on hand so that was what went in there, it gave a great texture. The sour cream sauce I subbed serrano and lemon juice, limes aren't ripe yet. It didn't have enough something for me. Tried to kick it up with spices. I think I'd prefer an avocado sauce next time. Solid recipe. I liked the texture with the raw sweet potatoes and the mashed black beans (used a potato masher) and broiled. Sure, it would have been crispier if it had been fried but it was solid as is and healthier Husband says texture was awesome, he's a meat eater and says he wants me to make it again as a burger next time. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 202) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Delicious Black Bean Burritos

Black beans, cream cheese, & green chiles give basic burrito’s a tasty makeover.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States