Spicy Black Bean Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
These were okay... nothing special though. I won't be making them again. However, The jalapeno-lime sour cream was good and I'll use that for future Mexican dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
Used one can of kidney beans, one can of black bean. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
These were amazing! I made half of the recipe because there are only 2 of us, but used the whole egg. I also used a little jarred jalapeno in the sauce and the patties, as we are not fans of very spicy food. Half of the recipe made 4 good size patties. The sauce is incredible, I'll be using it for more than just this recipe. The balance of flavors is just perfect, and so unusual. The sweet potato is the perfect counterpoint to the heat of the cumin and jalapeno, and the lime sauce is the perfect complement. We both loved this recipe, and will be making it again soon! Thanks so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sterling, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
These are great - and the lime sour cream puts them over the top. I serve these on a bed of greens with salsa and sliced avocado. Top with a cilantro as well as the lime sour cream. To spread up preparation time - try using a food processor for the jalapenos, scrap out and chop the garlic, scrap out and chop the sweet potato. You can play around with the amounts a bit as well as add cilatro and or peppers and or chilis. It still comes out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
This is a great base recipe, so thanks! Once i made these with regular potatoes because I didn't have sweet. I've made them with sweet potatoes as well and like them both ways--- I'll probably go with sweet more often because they are more nutritious. I halve the recipe as it's only my husband and I, but still use a whole egg. A bit more cumin, a dash of cayenne and about 1/2t chili powder to spice it up a bit for us. Love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Exeter, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
These were incredible!!!!! I totally recommend them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
After reading some of the reviews from people that didn't like this recipe, I decided to try this recipe anyway. I didn't follow the measurements exactly and used Panko bread crumbs and serrano peppers I had marinated in wine vingegar. I also kept the consistency wetter. I coated them lightly with flour and did fry them in minimal olive oil and drained them well. I think they were absolutely delicious, even though I did not make the sour cream topping. I'll give the topping the next time I make this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
Great recipe. I adjusted this to create a three-bean cake (kidney, pinto, lentils), omitted the jalapeno and used basil. Next time I will use black beans and try something else, but the outcome was delicious this first time around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mary Coates
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
Followed recipe, decreased jalapeno peppers by one. Added cilantro to the sour cream dip. Watch your broiling time or where you have your rack placed, mine were starting to get a little crispy. Will add avacado to my dinner serving tonight. Very nice recipe. Love the sweet potatoes in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
This is really tasty!! Love the Lime Sour Cream. Really makes this dish. The cakes crisp right up under the broiler.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MTCHYG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montrose, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 205) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

Quinoa Black Bean Burgers

See how to make delicious vegetarian black bean burgers.

Black Bean and Couscous Salad

See how to make a Southwest-style couscous salad with a tangy vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States