Spicy Black Bean Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
These are great - and the lime sour cream puts them over the top. I serve these on a bed of greens with salsa and sliced avocado. Top with a cilantro as well as the lime sour cream. To spread up preparation time - try using a food processor for the jalapenos, scrap out and chop the garlic, scrap out and chop the sweet potato. You can play around with the amounts a bit as well as add cilatro and or peppers and or chilis. It still comes out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
This is a great base recipe, so thanks! Once i made these with regular potatoes because I didn't have sweet. I've made them with sweet potatoes as well and like them both ways--- I'll probably go with sweet more often because they are more nutritious. I halve the recipe as it's only my husband and I, but still use a whole egg. A bit more cumin, a dash of cayenne and about 1/2t chili powder to spice it up a bit for us. Love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Exeter, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
These were incredible!!!!! I totally recommend them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
After reading some of the reviews from people that didn't like this recipe, I decided to try this recipe anyway. I didn't follow the measurements exactly and used Panko bread crumbs and serrano peppers I had marinated in wine vingegar. I also kept the consistency wetter. I coated them lightly with flour and did fry them in minimal olive oil and drained them well. I think they were absolutely delicious, even though I did not make the sour cream topping. I'll give the topping the next time I make this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
Great recipe. I adjusted this to create a three-bean cake (kidney, pinto, lentils), omitted the jalapeno and used basil. Next time I will use black beans and try something else, but the outcome was delicious this first time around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mary Coates
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
Followed recipe, decreased jalapeno peppers by one. Added cilantro to the sour cream dip. Watch your broiling time or where you have your rack placed, mine were starting to get a little crispy. Will add avacado to my dinner serving tonight. Very nice recipe. Love the sweet potatoes in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
This is really tasty!! Love the Lime Sour Cream. Really makes this dish. The cakes crisp right up under the broiler.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MTCHYG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montrose, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
I am going to give this 5 stars because my husband, who does not eat black beans at all enjoyed this very much. So did my 11 year old son. And for me, that makes this an EXCELLENT recipe. I prepared this exactly as directed. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Todayz_Lady

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Haven, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
Wow. These are really good! The sour cream is great. Since I usually make a half batch, I just use a whole egg, and the patties stay together just fine. I also broiled them a little longer, as I wanted them very crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
I too added another egg, and used panko instead of the bread crumbs. I used both the broil method, and I also baked another batch at 400. Next time I'll use the food processor to combine the jalapeno and sour cream for the dip so it's a bit smoother.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langley, Washington, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 202) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Delicious Black Bean Burritos

Black beans, cream cheese, & green chiles give basic burrito’s a tasty makeover.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States