Spicy Black Bean Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 7, 2012
Pretty good recipe! I had to make quite a few changes because of what I had on hand - substituted 2 chipotle chilis for the jalepeno, oats for the bread crumbs, diced red onion for the green. I also microwaved the sweet potato so I didn't have to grate it. I pureed the sweet potato, onion, chili, spices and 2 eggs, then added them to the beans and mashed, then added the oats. I also pan fried them in a little olive oil so I wouldn't have to turn on my oven. The cakes have a smoke flavor from the chipotle. I substituted lemon juice and chipotle for the sauce - I would recommend following the recipe, my sauce wasn't that great. I think these would be great as bite sized appetizers with a dollop of guac and sour cream on them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TSierra

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Algonquin, Illinois, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
Delicious!!!I altered the recipe a little by taking away the jalapeno, as I am very sensitive to spicey food, anyway the cakes were delicious, I did add an extra egg, which made it very moist. This is a keeper and the teens loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Charlotte Amalie, Saint Thomas, U. S. Virgin Islands
Living In: Glenn Dale, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
These were absolutely amazing. We like spice, but I felt 2 jalepenos were fine - and I was happy I made that choice. Didn't have a problem with the uncooked sweet potato. This got my take-out happy fiance to eat and enjoy something healthy - this will become a week night staple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
Love this recipe! I always double or triple the recipe because they refrigerate and/or freeze wonderfully. I did add additional spices (coriander, chile powder, cilantro) to give it more kick. One time I only had one can of black beans so substituted with a can of pinto beans and the result was great. There was no real difference in the final taste. I soften the grated sweet potatoes in the microwave as others suggested & also softened the black beans to make mashing easier. And, used two eggs as others suggested. Because I like my green onions fresh and crispy, I added those to the lime sour cream with a little fresh cilantro and used sweet onions in the cakes. I baked mine at 425 degrees for time indicated instead of broiling. I prefer a moister patty. Wonderful recipe.....LOVE IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bex

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cripple Creek, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
I held back on the heat with these since I didn't know how spicy my guests liked their food, but they were still delicious. Next time I will crank up the jalapeno and cumin. the sweet potato adds a faint sweetness that gives a nice balance with the spice. And the lime sour cream really is a must.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
I didn't have any jalapenos so I used chipotles. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
noone liked it but me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
Too spicy for our 4 year old, but my husband and I loved this recipe! I followed it as written and the cakes turned out moist and flavorful. We didn't have any trouble at all with the sweet potato being hard/undercooked. The 1 egg seemed to bind the mixture well enough. The sour cream mixture was superb with the cakes--definitely try it as well. Excellent new recipe that will made it to the dinner table regularly from now on. Thanks! **Note: I used 2 semi-large sweet potatoes (grated them in a food processor) and they yielded 6 cups. I froze the extra two 2c measurements and hope they will use well next time I make the cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FoodObsessedMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Abingdon, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
awesome made according to recipe.wouldnt change a thing i did had a slice of Harvatti cheese melted on top..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PTMUGUCA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watertown, New York, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
solid recipe, I cut back on the jalapeno since my family doesn't like too much heat. still enough kick. will make again....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Shelton, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 203) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

Quinoa Black Bean Burgers

See how to make delicious vegetarian black bean burgers.

Black Bean and Couscous Salad

See how to make a Southwest-style couscous salad with a tangy vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States