Spicy Black Bean Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Elle
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
I made a half-recipe of this. I enjoyed the taste. Mine were a bit crunchy-for some reason I used a large grate, not a fine grate, when grating the sweet potato. The mixture was a bit dry even with a full medium-sized egg in the half mixture, so I added a dash of Worceshire (sp?) sauce and a couple teaspoons of water. I did use Panko for the bread crumbs, so that may have contributed to the dryness. I cooked one on the stovetop to try right away and enjoyed it with the sauce. I loved the sauce BEFORE I added fresh lime juie. After...eh. I felt I lost the taste of the sour cream and jalapeno when I added lime juice. I made another for supper, served with rice and corrots. I will definitely make these again, grating the sweet potato finer abd omitting the lime in the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elle

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hays, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
I made some adjustments based on the reviews I read but really liked this recipe. I used half a red onion as that is what I had on hand as well as some canned jalapenos rather than fresh. I also added 1 Tbsp cayenne, chili powder and oregano as well as some cilantro paste (about 2 tsp). I put everything including the spices, onion/garlic mixture, potatoes and black beans into a large bowl and used a immersion blender to combine. Despite some reviews, I only used 1 egg and 1/2 cup of panko and felt that the texture was very good and not dry like other black bean burgers I've made. I used a little less than a half cup of mix per cake and still came out with 12 rather than 8 which is fine as I'll freeze for lunches etc. I used my broiler as the recipe stated. The cook times seemed accurate though I recommend using the full 10 minutes for the first side to make sure everything sets before flipping. They weren't as crispy as I thought they were going to be but I like that they don't use a lot of oil to cook. Also, just as a tip, I used a small food processor to grate/shred the sweet potato as well as chop up the onion which was very helpful in making this a quicker meal. I used plain greek yogurt with lime juice and zest rather than the above sour cream mix since I spiced up my burgers. Thanks for the recipe and helpful reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
Very good. I didn't have any jalapeno's so I used a can of green chili's and I was also out of bread crumbs so I just ran some crackers through the food processor. I did not precook the potatoes and I am happy I didn't, I think it would have made them too mushy. I also added extra lime juice to the sour cream. I will be making again but I think I will cook them on the stove top instead of in the broiler. The sour cream is a much have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Hobart, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
I have made these many times and love them. To cut down on the prep time, I have started putting the sweet potatoes in a food processor rather than grating it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
Once upon a time there was a sad, lonely can of black beans in a pantry. It dreamt of the day it would become something much more than the sum of it's parts. One day a beautiful maiden plucked out the can of black beans and magically transformed it into the most deliciously fantastic black bean cakes ever made then married it to a perfect sauce and they lived happily ever after.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kayt Krepcho

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Homestead, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
Delicious! The lime sour cream makes these amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
This was excellent! I felt it was slightly dry, so I definitely think the sauce is necessary...I did add cilantro to the sauce, cause I love cilantro. But otherwise made it just as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolyn Schoeb Boersma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Olive, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
These were fantastic! After reading the reviews, I added another egg and replaced some of the bread crumbs with oats. I refrigerated the 'dough' for a couple of hours, so I had no problem with them falling apart. I did not cook the sweet potato as others suggested, and it came out great. I did not broil them, but rather cooked them at 425 for a little longer than the recipe stated, until hot all the way through. This prevented them from drying out as others have noted. The Lime Sour Cream is amazing! Served the cakes with curry couscous and steamed lemon broccoli - amazing. Even the carnivore bf loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2012
mmmmmm, loved these. and talk about a super healthy combination of ingredients. i served them with the avocado ranch recipe on this site and a large salad. it was a great light and flavorful meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2012
Tasty vegetarian option- the lime sour cream is a must! I was surprised by the sweetness the sweet potato added, but the flavor (with the jalapenos and spices) was good. I made the cakes smaller than recommended and broiled them. I might try frying in a bit of oil next time to get a crispier cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 203) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Delicious Black Bean Burritos

Black beans, cream cheese, & green chiles give basic burrito’s a tasty makeover.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States