Spicy Black Bean Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
Delicious! I followed the recipe exactly except one change. I did add some cilantro to the sour cream dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
These turned out really good. I agree with others that the spices can be kicked up just a notch. I am trying to eat more vegetarian meals so these were perfect. My kids, who are not joining me on my quest, liked them too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JO~Lite

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Laurel, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AngieA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
Great as it is. Loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
I thought these were really good. A little on the crumbly side (I must have done something wrong), so I melted a little shredded cheddar on top. We had them w/ regular sour cream & salsa. I would def. make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2013
Been wanting to try a vegetarian burger for awhile and this one really hit it! Fast and easy to mix together, but it did need a little more heat to spice it up. I added some chili powder and a bit of pickled jalapeño as well. And the sour cream sauce really took it over the top; I did add some very finely minced lime zest to the sauce too. Will be using this quite often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Raeford, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
I liked this recipe. The taste was good. My kids thought that the sweet potatoes was cheese - so I didn't correct them. My only complaint was that they were kind of dry. Without the sour cream they would have been too dry. I did flatten them pretty thinly but I am wondering if cooking them in a no stick pan would work better. Also - don't make them too far in advance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Boston, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
****BEST VERSION***: I've made these about 5 times now and everytime I find a way to improve it. The last time I made this, I must say blew me out of the water! For a dinner for two, I halved what the recipe calls for. Best adjustments so far: add ground coriander (same quantity as what you use for cumin and added at the same step as when you add the cumin), grate the yams then microwave for 50 seconds before mixing in, and because the recipe is very mild I increased the jalapeno to 1.5 times what they call for and chop them more roughly so you get more bits of spice, increase the garlic to 1.5 times what they call for and roughly chop them, and the most important change i made was to FRY THEM! in a frying pan with a couple tablespoons of olive oil each side until nice and crispy dark brown. Helpful hints: use your hands to mash everything together (it's much faster than using a spoon), then use an ice cream scooper to scoop them onto the frying pan then mash them down with a spatula. I think this version really enhances the flavor of this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michellefromNY
Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
We used black beans that were dry and we soaked and cooked them, but I don't think it would matter. They were amazing. During lent we will definitely be having these on Fridays. Don't skip the sweet potatos, they add a lot to the taste and texture. A great meatless alternative and the yogurt dressing is the bomb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
Mmm-mmm-good! Didn't give 5 stars b/c I adjusted. Halved the recipe. Skipped bread crumbs (g/f plus it didn't need 'em) and the sauce (time factor). Added ground turmeric. Fried on top the stove. De-lish! Excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amiddl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
This has become the meatless staple in my carnivorous household. They are less healthy, but super yummy if you fry the patties in vegetable oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 203) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

Quinoa Black Bean Burgers

See how to make delicious vegetarian black bean burgers.

Black Bean and Couscous Salad

See how to make a Southwest-style couscous salad with a tangy vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States