Spicy Beef Vegetable Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Alaena39
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
This was pretty good and so easy! I did change a couple things. I cook the meat alone, drain, then add the onion because I like the juice from the onion, it adds more flavor. Also, I didn't have enough time to let this simmer for 8 hours so instead I used a 15 or 16 oz can of sliced carrots and skipped out on the celery, so nothing had to become tender. I left it on low til my husband came home, 4 hours later, and dinner was warm and ready to go. The only problem with this was something I can remedy later and thats why it still got 5 stars. Too spicy! I will definitely make this again, but with 1/4 tsp pepper next time. That should probably do the trick. Thanks for the upload! Another easy stew recipe to go in my permanent collection. Update: Since it was so spicy, adding a bit of water to the leftovers and reheating made it more manageable to eat! Try this if it comes out too hot for your taste. Update #2: it was definitely the pepper that gave this heat. Green chiles are never hot, but if you do want to add more heat, then I would suggest maybe adding jalapeño instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hialeah, Florida, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by luvmykids
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
This is the first time I tried an unrated recipe on AR and I'm glad I did! We really enjoyed this soup. I did not have celery so I left that out but I will add it the next time I make this. For my frozen mixed veggies, I used a bag of zucchini, green beans and carrots. Obviously with the addition of spaghetti sauce, this is a very "tomato-y" soup. My husband thought there was a little too much tomato taste but he still ate up his bowl and went for seconds. My two young boys both gave this 5 stars, even the picky little one...which doesn't happen often. I did add 1/4 cup of barley during the last hour of cooking. Oh, and my boys enjoyed dipping mini saltine crackers in their soup :) I will definitely make this soup again, thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvmykids

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
I liked this stew a lot and it is a keeper, BUT... People. GO EASY ON PEPPER!!! After some review here ( the person said it was not spicy enough) I decided it will be good enough for me and I followed the recipe and put 1 teaspoon of pepper. Oh, how I regretted it. I do love "spicy" but not THAT spicy. My husband cood barely finish his portion, and my toddler constanly opened his mouth and soon refused to eat it. I tried to save situation by putting some honey, but it did not help much. But to give a good healthy dish 4 stars just because of it would be unfair, because the name of it "Spicy stew". Next time I will put only 1/4 of teaspoon of pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
Made this soup as written, except used stew meat in place of the ground beef. Forgot to put the celery in, so just used a few shakes of celery salt, and added a few shakes of cayene pepper for a little extra kick. Will definately add to our soup rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phyllis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
Neither spicy nor a stew, but still delicious. It was more like a hearty beef soup. I like a lot of heat, so I used Fra Diavolo (or Arrabiatta) tomato sauce, but still not spicy enough. I also used 3 1/2 cups of organic beef stock instead of bouillon and water. Overall, a great comfort dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
Fantastic soup! I followed the recipe almost exactly. I used 1 cup beef broth instead of the bouillon granules and for the vegetables I used a bag of frozen corn and a bag of frozen peas. There was a little 'kick' but definitely not spicy. I'm wondering if others used the Rotel brand for the tom and green and chilies? I used another brand - 14 oz zesty, mild tom and green chilies. Even using the 1 teaspoon of pepper I would not call it spicy. My one year old loved it! Will be on my monthly recipe rotation for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
I wasn't expecting that much from this because of the minimal ingredients involved, but what a GREAT SURPRISE!!! I threw this together inthe morning and it was wonderful! There was so much flavor to this ! I think I can modify this with different vegetable ( just used frozen mixed vegetables), but I think I can different textures/tastes with different vegetable combinations. Try this with a dollop of sour cream on top! YUMMY!!!! This was GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
A simple, delicious recipe made with things you would normally have on hand. It was a lifesaver for a busy day for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by geekygirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
A very good, easy stew! I made a few changes based on what was on hand: I used frozen carrots and corn and fresh green beans for the veggies, and I did not have a can of tomatoes with green chiles so I substituted 10 oz. diced tomatoes I had frozen and added some chopped jalapenos and a pinch of cayenne powder for spice. Very yummy, I'm taking it for lunch next week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abbey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manchester, Iowa, USA
Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
I have now found a new beef vegetable soup to replace the one I have been making for the past 15 years. That's how good this one is! The only changes I made was to add extra meat--a pound of stew meat (on top of the ground beef) and fresh baby carrots. Thanks for sharing this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Meridian, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States