Spicy Beef Vegetable Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by luvmykids
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
This is the first time I tried an unrated recipe on AR and I'm glad I did! We really enjoyed this soup. I did not have celery so I left that out but I will add it the next time I make this. For my frozen mixed veggies, I used a bag of zucchini, green beans and carrots. Obviously with the addition of spaghetti sauce, this is a very "tomato-y" soup. My husband thought there was a little too much tomato taste but he still ate up his bowl and went for seconds. My two young boys both gave this 5 stars, even the picky little one...which doesn't happen often. I did add 1/4 cup of barley during the last hour of cooking. Oh, and my boys enjoyed dipping mini saltine crackers in their soup :) I will definitely make this soup again, thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvmykids

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
A simple, delicious recipe made with things you would normally have on hand. It was a lifesaver for a busy day for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by geekygirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
Neither spicy nor a stew, but still delicious. It was more like a hearty beef soup. I like a lot of heat, so I used Fra Diavolo (or Arrabiatta) tomato sauce, but still not spicy enough. I also used 3 1/2 cups of organic beef stock instead of bouillon and water. Overall, a great comfort dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
We threw this together last night and it was easy and AWESOME! My husband loved it and I did, too. I can take or leave vegetable soup usually, but I had 2 bowls full! We used Ragu Parmesan & Romano spaghetti sauce, only 3 cups of water, 1 can of mixed vegetables, no celery, and added some raddiatore pasta. This one definitely goes in the recipe box! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrsbucket91905

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Alaena39
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
This was pretty good and so easy! I did change a couple things. I cook the meat alone, drain, then add the onion because I like the juice from the onion, it adds more flavor. Also, I didn't have enough time to let this simmer for 8 hours so instead I used a 15 or 16 oz can of sliced carrots and skipped out on the celery, so nothing had to become tender. I left it on low til my husband came home, 4 hours later, and dinner was warm and ready to go. The only problem with this was something I can remedy later and thats why it still got 5 stars. Too spicy! I will definitely make this again, but with 1/4 tsp pepper next time. That should probably do the trick. Thanks for the upload! Another easy stew recipe to go in my permanent collection. Update: Since it was so spicy, adding a bit of water to the leftovers and reheating made it more manageable to eat! Try this if it comes out too hot for your taste. Update #2: it was definitely the pepper that gave this heat. Green chiles are never hot, but if you do want to add more heat, then I would suggest maybe adding jalapeño instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hialeah, Florida, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
I liked this stew a lot and it is a keeper, BUT... People. GO EASY ON PEPPER!!! After some review here ( the person said it was not spicy enough) I decided it will be good enough for me and I followed the recipe and put 1 teaspoon of pepper. Oh, how I regretted it. I do love "spicy" but not THAT spicy. My husband cood barely finish his portion, and my toddler constanly opened his mouth and soon refused to eat it. I tried to save situation by putting some honey, but it did not help much. But to give a good healthy dish 4 stars just because of it would be unfair, because the name of it "Spicy stew". Next time I will put only 1/4 of teaspoon of pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
I wasn't expecting that much from this because of the minimal ingredients involved, but what a GREAT SURPRISE!!! I threw this together inthe morning and it was wonderful! There was so much flavor to this ! I think I can modify this with different vegetable ( just used frozen mixed vegetables), but I think I can different textures/tastes with different vegetable combinations. Try this with a dollop of sour cream on top! YUMMY!!!! This was GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
Made this soup as written, except used stew meat in place of the ground beef. Forgot to put the celery in, so just used a few shakes of celery salt, and added a few shakes of cayene pepper for a little extra kick. Will definately add to our soup rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phyllis Berggren Nelson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
Very good. Wasn't sure I would like "spicy" with "vegetable stew" but this is now a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
It doesn't come any easier or heartier than this! I cooked a cup of elbow macaroni and added that to the pot during the last 30 minutes...scrumptious!!! Oh and do go easy on the pepper...i only used about 1/4 tsp for a very flavorful stew. Enjoy some french bread with this recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States