Spicy Beef Vegetable Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
I am only giving this recipe 3 stars because, although it is a great base recipe, it is VERY bland as written. I started by adding tabasco and a dash of ground cayenne, but it was still missing something, so I added cumin. I ended up adding more tabasco, and cayenne and taco seasoning. The result was tasty, but I wish I had added it from the beginning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Stillwater, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
Used 1 lb turkey breast cut into 1/4 inch cubes intsead of ground beef. Also used 2 cups low sodium beef broth and 1 cup water instead of bouillon granules. Didn't have 8 hours to cook on low, so cooked on high 1.5 hours, low for about 4 hours. Soooo good!! Vegetables stayed suprisingly firm, not at all mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Cooking Kitty
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
YUm! This had just the right amount of spice. I did use hunts zesty tomato sauce and reduce the amount of pepper. My frozen veggies were peas and corn. While I liked it very much Dh said It was good but said it was a soupier chili minus the beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cooking Kitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
This is wonderful! I have made this twice now. The first time I added a little pasta, the second I did not (we like it better without). This is what I changed I added two packages of frozen mixed vegetables, no celery and 3 beef bouillon cubes (we don't mind it a bit salty). This has definitely gone into the family favorite book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
This was quite good. My husband really enjoyed it as well. I did not have diced tomatoes with green chiles so I used diced tomatoes with sweet onion and used the called for amount of pepper & added a dash of cayenne pepper. It was very good and I will definitely be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
This was a very tasty dish. Didn't find it overly spicey, so when I make it again, I will probably spice it up a bit more. My dinner company did enjoy this dish, which I served over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
Loved it! I cut the pepper back to 1/4 tsp as another reviewer suggested. I also used 2 carrots, 2 potatoes, and about 2/3 cup of frozen green beans instead of the bag of frozen mixed veggies. Very good and healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
This recipe is both easy and delicious! My son, who is not typically a soup eater, had 3 bowls!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
A very good, easy stew! I made a few changes based on what was on hand: I used frozen carrots and corn and fresh green beans for the veggies, and I did not have a can of tomatoes with green chiles so I substituted 10 oz. diced tomatoes I had frozen and added some chopped jalapenos and a pinch of cayenne powder for spice. Very yummy, I'm taking it for lunch next week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abbey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manchester, Iowa, USA
Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
This soup turned out delish! I added barley as suggested by other reviewers, which made it less "soupy" & more "stewy". We had enough leftovers to freeze two dinner servings for my husband & me. Yummo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States