Spicy Beef Vegetable Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
I am only giving this recipe 3 stars because, although it is a great base recipe, it is VERY bland as written. I started by adding tabasco and a dash of ground cayenne, but it was still missing something, so I added cumin. I ended up adding more tabasco, and cayenne and taco seasoning. The result was tasty, but I wish I had added it from the beginning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Stillwater, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
Used 1 lb turkey breast cut into 1/4 inch cubes intsead of ground beef. Also used 2 cups low sodium beef broth and 1 cup water instead of bouillon granules. Didn't have 8 hours to cook on low, so cooked on high 1.5 hours, low for about 4 hours. Soooo good!! Vegetables stayed suprisingly firm, not at all mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Cooking Kitty
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
YUm! This had just the right amount of spice. I did use hunts zesty tomato sauce and reduce the amount of pepper. My frozen veggies were peas and corn. While I liked it very much Dh said It was good but said it was a soupier chili minus the beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cooking Kitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
This is wonderful! I have made this twice now. The first time I added a little pasta, the second I did not (we like it better without). This is what I changed I added two packages of frozen mixed vegetables, no celery and 3 beef bouillon cubes (we don't mind it a bit salty). This has definitely gone into the family favorite book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
This was quite good. My husband really enjoyed it as well. I did not have diced tomatoes with green chiles so I used diced tomatoes with sweet onion and used the called for amount of pepper & added a dash of cayenne pepper. It was very good and I will definitely be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
This was a very tasty dish. Didn't find it overly spicey, so when I make it again, I will probably spice it up a bit more. My dinner company did enjoy this dish, which I served over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
Loved it! I cut the pepper back to 1/4 tsp as another reviewer suggested. I also used 2 carrots, 2 potatoes, and about 2/3 cup of frozen green beans instead of the bag of frozen mixed veggies. Very good and healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
This recipe is both easy and delicious! My son, who is not typically a soup eater, had 3 bowls!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
A very good, easy stew! I made a few changes based on what was on hand: I used frozen carrots and corn and fresh green beans for the veggies, and I did not have a can of tomatoes with green chiles so I substituted 10 oz. diced tomatoes I had frozen and added some chopped jalapenos and a pinch of cayenne powder for spice. Very yummy, I'm taking it for lunch next week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abbey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manchester, Iowa, USA
Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
This soup turned out delish! I added barley as suggested by other reviewers, which made it less "soupy" & more "stewy". We had enough leftovers to freeze two dinner servings for my husband & me. Yummo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States