Spicy Beef Curry Stew for the Slow Cooker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
My boyfriend is from Africa, and I have a hard time finding recipes that we both love. This was definitely a winner! I add extra curry, jalapeño, and cayenne pepper too because my boyfriend likes his food spicy. But we loved it. The house smelled great, and it was nice to come home to a tasty, hot meal after a long day at work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
Made this a week or so ago! The family LOVED it! Definitely a keeper! I seeded and de-membraned the jalapeno, and was a bit generous with the curry powder - I like the flavor. I'd definitely recommend adding "seeds and membranes removed." to the jalapeno in the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
My husband and I loved this dish. I added extra curry powder and plan to add some veggies to it the next time I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
jimmy thinks it has too much ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saratoga, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Logandale, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
Did not enjoy this meal at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
This was really good. We had it with rice, but I might try it with mashed potatoes next time. I did the canned diced tomatoes with jalapenos already in them. I might add more plain tomatoes next time - the flavor was great but the tomatoes just looked so lonely in there. I always add extra garlic and I didn't really measure the ginger. I didn't bother pre-cooking the meat either. I never do - I find it comes out more tender. Really great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rowley, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
Boy, this looked and sounded so good. I couldn't wait to make it. Loved the smell as it was cooking but was so disappointed in the final outcome. The meat was dry and while it was not as spicy as I feared, it lacked...taste. I took another reviewers advise and coated the meat with flour before browning it but it was still very watery and again, not tasty. I think IF I try this again, I'll put the salt and pepper in the flour when I coat the meat. I've heard that salt will seal in the moisture of the meat. Right now, I'm going to take some red wine with more flour and I'll try to thicken it up but it is too late for the meat. : (
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
really nice taste. The sauce is way too watery, and I would leave the cup of water (or beef broth) out next time. I cooked this in my Instant Pot electric pressure cooker, and it was done in 35 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
This is very good with some green peas and/or chickpeas added. You can adjust the thickness by adding more or less beef broth. Good over jasmine rice. Also, a good way to use up leftover roast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
This recipe was good, but it could use a little additional flavoring. With some more tweeking I think I can get it really good. I followed the advice of some other reviews and browned the stew beef after coating it in flour. I didn't bother to saute the jalapenos because they were from a jar. I also added carrots and potatoes and to compensate for the extra veggies I added some more beef stock so they were mostly submerged. I added almost equal amounts of sugar to the curry powder to bring out the flavor. I added more curry powder and pepper about an hour before serving to bring out more of the curry flavor. I think it would be good to add some more ginger, salt, and if you like spicyness, sirachi, chili or hot sauce would probably compliment it well. I also added about 2 tablespoons of corn starch mixed with beef stock to thicken. I served it with egg noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 189) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff

See how to put an easy spin on classic beef stroganoff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States