Spicy Beef Curry Stew for the Slow Cooker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2004
Very good and flexible recipe. I made it with a beef roast I had in my freezer. I cooled the roast slightly after it had cooked and then shredded it and added it back to the vegetables which I had thickened with some tomato paste. Also, I used more onions, garlic and curry powder than the recipe called for... but that's just a personal perference. Served it over rice... made a very nice dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ashtabula, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2004
The only thing I might change about this recipe is that I would thicken the broth just a little bit at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2004
This was very good & spicy! I was craving meatballs, so I substitued them for the beef. I browned them before putting in to slow cooker. I also added an extra chopped jalapeno and more curry. Served with cooked egg noodles - EXCELLENT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christi Fredrick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2004
Wow. So delicious! The only change I made was to add some canned coconut milk at the end as we like creamy and curry flavor together. It was so great over rice. This one is a keeper and the house smells fantastic! Thanks Nanci!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2005
not really spicey at all - but a nice recipe. I brown the beef after dredging in a bit of flour, keeps the meat from becoming too rubbery but I like it! Some scallions when serving next time would be great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2005
Yum. We only had veggie stock, so we used that in place of the beef broth and added some cashews to the final product, and this recipe made an excellent dinner served over brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2005
This recipe is very tasty. I served it over egg noodles instead, and it was quite good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2005
My husband and toddler (21 months) just love this meal. It is perfect with warm corn bread. I forgot the curry once and it was still wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Holly Chadwick
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2005
This was very good but mine was over cooked just a little. Maybe my new slow cooker is extra hot, but it was ready in 4 hours on low. By the time we ate it the meat had fallen all to shreds. Very tasty though. Will start it later next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly Chadwick

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centerburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2005
This was absolutely delicious and the house smelled so good. I did dredge the meat in flour before browning and this seemed to have helped thicken the final product a little. Also added a bit more curry as we love the flavor. Wasn't spicy at all. Served over mashed potatoes this was almost decadent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 192) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Make-Ahead Slow Cooker Beef Stew

See how to make a flavorful beef stew with vegetables in a slow-cooker.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States