Spicy Beef Curry Stew for the Slow Cooker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
Very nice but I would use curry paste next time and try that. A little like a hot stew and I feel as though it just needs a tweak to be a real 'winner'
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
If you want this to be spicy use jar jalepenos instead of fresh. I made as stated the first time and was disappointed that it wasn't spicy. The second time used the jar ones and tomato puree like another reviewer suggested and it tasted and looked more like what you would get in an Indian Restaurant. Much thicker. But the beef broth was a little overpowering. I will water it down next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jondra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2009
I tried this recipe as I had some stewing beef and hadn't used my crock pot for a while. It is a nice twist from the usual curry recipes I've made. The meat was very tender and flavourful and I decided to add some potatoes to go along with the 'stew' theme and found they complimented the recipe well. I served it over some rice and it made a good hearty meal for the family! Good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
good thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2009
Loved it! The flavors worked beautifully together. I served on top of mashed potatoes and everyone cleaned their plates.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2009
Served at a dinner party, and turned out really well! We actually used beef neck (never tried this before, and is a cheap cut of meat) which was quite marbly and turned out very tender and yummy! Will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trolt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
Loved this, it was perfect for a winters night. After reading some reviews, I coated the meat in flour before browning. I also used three times the curry and added a teaspoon of curry paste instead of jalapenos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
I can't have a curry dish without potatoes. So I added 2 medium diced potatoes. A 28oz can of diced tomatoes. Doubled the curry and 1 tablepsoon of pepper. I also had my hot sauce on hand. Thanks for the recipe !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
This was good. I added a heaping tablespoon of curry since so many reviewers said the curry flavor was light. I also thickened the sauce with flour before serving. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robbie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
Excellent! I used green chiles instead of jalepenos because that is what I had on hand. Also, skipped the browning step as I was short on time... turned out great! The sauce was a little thin so next time I might add a little flour to the beef like I do in my other stews. Thanks for a fantastic dish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minnesota_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Daria's Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff

Saucy, creamy and comforting dish of beef and mushrooms prepared in a slow cooker

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States