Spicy Beef Curry Stew for the Slow Cooker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
I thought this was excellent, but my son said it was too spicy and my husband said it wasn't flavorful enough. I think my husband's problem was that he was expecting a curry dish, but it is really just spicy beef stew. Next time I may add more curry, coriander, cumin and cinnamin to see if I can turn it into a curry dish for my husband. I personally like it as is :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fondukes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
This was delish!! I did add a half can of coconut milk and a bit of sugar at the end and it was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MIKALA79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
This recipe was really good and the flavors in it were awesome. My husband loved it too. Instead of one onion I used two, I left out the jalapeno completely and added red pepper and spicy green chiles, and I thickened it up a little with some cornstarch. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emart129

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
I prefer slow cooker recipes where you can just throw everything in together but I decided to try this one. It tastes good but does not have much curry flavor to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mac
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
This beef stew turned out very well. A rich curry and spicy flavor in a thick stew meat and tomato sauce. Thanks Nancy! I used beef tenderloin tips, a little extra ginger and 2 large Serrano peppers and about 1 teaspoon cayenne pepper with a tablespoon of curry powder and two teaspoons of garam masala. I also used two large fresh diced tomatoes and a very large sweet onion. I followed the assembly instructions and cooked this for 8 hours in my crock pot on low. This yielded 4 large servings of wonderful stew!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
I floured the beef before I braised it and used some substitutions-like powered ginger, sliced jalapenos from a jar, and hot curry powder. It was delicious and all got eaten right up. It was a little soupy, but serving it on rice took care of that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ithaca, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
A great hit w/my friends! The only thing though is, that it's really not spicy. So if you're expecting a kick, you have to add more green chillis or something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
I loved th beginning of this recipe but had to change it up to suit my famil's taste. I added curry powder to my flour mixture for dredging my beef. I used the coconut milk like other suggessted instead of the beef broth. I also added 4 chopped carrots and 2 large sweet potatoes. Towards the end of cooking I added a can of chickpeas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Delray Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
Great taste when made as the recipe described. I would like the sauce to be a little thicker though. I might add carrots and potatoes next time to make it a bit more hearty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JAMESWHO
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
Very nice. I didn't do the browning of the meat and it was just fine. Next time I will add some apple to give it a bit of sweetness with the spice, besides I love beef curry with apple. Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff

See how to put an easy spin on classic beef stroganoff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States