Spicy Beef Curry Stew for the Slow Cooker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
I cooked this recipe as directed and I found it quite bland. There was heat, but not much else. It's definitely lacking something and I can't quite figure out what it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
... maybe 3 1/2 stars because I usually like stews more the day after. Glad I tried it but probably won't make again. I omitted the browning stage and just threw everyone in the slow cooker for 7 hrs. It definitely has some heat so I'm not sure about other comments that it is not spicy. I made sure to use the jalapeno's seeds and substituted red curry paste for the powder so maybe that is it? Also, only used 1/2 cup of beef stock and added 1/2 cup of coconut milk. Still very liquidy but worked out fine over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
This was not spicy at all and needed a gracious amount of salt. I probably wouldn't make this again as I like very strong flavors. For those who like milder tasting dishes, this is probabl good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EACline

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
delicious.i cooked this for my family and served with rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wanderinggypsy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
Nate liked it. Too many onions (used about 3/4 small onion). Wouldn't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cooking Kitty
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
This was good...I just didnt find anything different or great about it. I bought the jalapeno for this recipe(dont have much experience with them) and didnt think it was spicy at all. I think I would give this one a try again, maybe add more curry and cut the jalapenos bigger. Knowing how this taste I'm going to look back at the reviews and see what would make this great bec it has potential.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cooking Kitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
I love this recipe, very easy to make and tastes great. I added Potatoes and Carrots to make it a little more stew like. The taste of the curry in the beef came out awesome. I look forward to making this one over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
Added a stalk of celery and around 3/4 cup cabbage pieces then didnt need the broth. Absolutely amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
Wonderful! I loved the flavor! It didn't turn out very spicy, but I may not have had enough ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
This was an extremely easy recipe to make. I too, skipped the frying pan stage and just threw it all in the slow cooker. I did add extra garlic, and I too used red curry paste and chinese garlic sauce. I also added ground corriander and cilantro to the cooking phase and then more chopped fresh cilantro as a garnish. Definitely in the make again list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 192) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Make-Ahead Slow Cooker Beef Stew

See how to make a flavorful beef stew with vegetables in a slow-cooker.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States