Spicy Beef Curry Stew for the Slow Cooker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
served with garlic mashed potatoes, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KUJayhawksfan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Junction City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Chanute, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
This was really yummy!!! I read some of the other reviews and doubled the curry powder. My hubby's tummy can't take fresh jalapenos, so I got canned tomatoes with green chiles and that added just the right amount of heat. The only thing I will do differently next time is cut the beef cubes in half. To make this more hearty, I added about 3/4 cup of lentils and I served it over cous-cous. If your desire is to make it a bit spicer, put a dollop of yogurt on top. Thanks, for submitting this, we enjoyed it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
I made as written, except used beef roast. After cooking in the slow cooker I shred and use as the meat for taco/burritos or as a topping on nachos. Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bedford, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
Very good. Will make it into my slow cooker favorite recipes. I too breaded the stew meat before frying it for a thicker sauce. I added more garlic and more curry but no jalapenos as my husband can't take the heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Yum....that's all I have to say. The only modification I made was to use 1/8 tsp of cayenne pepper instead of the jalapeno because I didn't have one. The whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
So good! I added red lentils and kidney beans too. also, added potatoes to one batch. You can't go wrong with this recipe I think. I doubled the curry powder because I really like that flavor. Thanks for sharing. I'd never made a stew before. this recipe sett me up for success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
I didn't really follow the recipe but I still really liked the concept. I added cinnamon and coriander, used red pepper flakes instead of jalapeno, chicken stock instead of beef broth, lamb instead of beef, and tomato paste instead of diced tomatoes. I also added carrots and potatoes. I just threw everything into the slow cooker. I wasn't intentionally being a rebel, but was just trying to use up some leftovers. Next time, I'll actually follow the recipe :) I really liked the idea of using ginger and curry in a slow cooker. I served over white rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
Very good, lots of flavor. Seems like everything out of the crockpot tastes the same. This was an exception.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salisbury, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
This recipe needed more curry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mimi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
Delish! Made in the crock pot - 5 hours on high. Floured the beef and browned in a skillet. Used the diced tomatoes with the jalapeno peppers, just a dash of the red pepper sauce and added some diced green peppers and some mushrooms. Otherwise, followed the recipe - smelled so good in the house! Served over baked potatoes diced up - yum! Had a nice flavor without being too hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WEBANGEL14

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Latrobe, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Irwin, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Daria's Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff

Saucy, creamy and comforting dish of beef and mushrooms prepared in a slow cooker

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States