Spicy Beef Curry Stew for the Slow Cooker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
We had a stew cook-off at our church and our team tied for first with this recipe. They liked the curry flavor, but it is not overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
Very Easy to put together. Right amount of spices. The only thing I had to do different was use a can of diced chile instead of adding jalenpeno. I didn't have the jalenpenos on hand. Definitely will do again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
Recipe was easy, good. I added chic peas, coconut milk powder and a couple of handfuls of fresh spinach to give it a hardy, healthy taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
This recipe was very good. Added more curry and used a whole can of beef broth. Also thickened with flour at end of cooking. Will be making again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennex

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Florence, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
Nothing special... used 2 fresh jalapeno peppers and not spicy at all. Think there are better curry stews out there... it is an easy dinner to put together but that's about it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: May 18, 2012
Delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
Terrific with a great balance of flavors. Not nearly as spicy as all the reviews made it sound. I didn't deseed the jalapenos and it still wasn't that spicy. Loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
Ended up needing a lot more seasoning. I added 2 TBS curry at beginning and ended up adding another at the end. Also add about 2tsp cumin, 1 tsp ground ginder along with the fresh ginger at the beginning. I think what really made it was adding 2 tsp cider vinegar and about 1 tsp sugar. Also, slow cooking for 4 to no more than 5 hrs is way plenty. I made the asian coconut rice from here to go along side it. In the end with all the additional seasoning it came out Ok, and a nice change. May make again if I get into a rut of something different to cook. Just not on my go to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetsuzie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
Made this last night, great recipe! I added more ginger and curry, as we like our spices strong...added cayenne for some extra heat. Also coated the beef in flour before cooking and used sesame oil for good flavor. Cooked in the crockpot on low for 8 hours and served over brown jasmine rice. This ones a keeper, thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Schnecksville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
served with garlic mashed potatoes, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KUJayhawksfan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Junction City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Chanute, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 189) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff

See how to put an easy spin on classic beef stroganoff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States