Spicy Beef Curry Stew for the Slow Cooker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2015
Oh my. I had a round roast in the freezer to use up so came upon this recipe. I actually have never had beef curry before, but the idea appealed to me. I did brown the beef and it's well worth it. I really wanted some veggies in here, so added a sweet potato and cauliflower. Very good additions. How good and how spicy your finished dish will be depends very much on the quality and heat of the curry powder you use; it can be extremely different across brands, even across home made recipes. I served it on jasmine rice. Outstanding meal, I'll be making this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cjucoder

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
I really enjoyed this, although I did kick it up a little with some extra curry powder. I also substituted coconut oil for the olive oil as well as a splash of coconut milk a two good dollops of Greek style coconut yogurt to the skillet mixture (what can I say, I like coconut!!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Belle River, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
Very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deanna McGuire

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2014
Very good. I threw in a few extra vegetables and served over rice. Just the right heat for us. Ty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
My boyfriend is from Africa, and I have a hard time finding recipes that we both love. This was definitely a winner! I add extra curry, jalapeño, and cayenne pepper too because my boyfriend likes his food spicy. But we loved it. The house smelled great, and it was nice to come home to a tasty, hot meal after a long day at work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
Made this a week or so ago! The family LOVED it! Definitely a keeper! I seeded and de-membraned the jalapeno, and was a bit generous with the curry powder - I like the flavor. I'd definitely recommend adding "seeds and membranes removed." to the jalapeno in the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
My husband and I loved this dish. I added extra curry powder and plan to add some veggies to it the next time I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
jimmy thinks it has too much ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saratoga, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Logandale, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
Did not enjoy this meal at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
This was really good. We had it with rice, but I might try it with mashed potatoes next time. I did the canned diced tomatoes with jalapenos already in them. I might add more plain tomatoes next time - the flavor was great but the tomatoes just looked so lonely in there. I always add extra garlic and I didn't really measure the ginger. I didn't bother pre-cooking the meat either. I never do - I find it comes out more tender. Really great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rowley, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 193) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Make-Ahead Slow Cooker Beef Stew

See how to make a flavorful beef stew with vegetables in a slow-cooker.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States