Spicy Beef Brisket Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
Absolutely fantastic! Simple to prep...took just a minute and was just stuff from the pantry. And the family gobbled it up! It was so good that my kids begged to have another meal of it at 9pm! Seriously, they just loved it. Not too spicy, just perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
We love this recipe!! It has great flavor and lots of spice. The second time I made it I cut back on the peppercorns and the pepperflakes. I always trim the fat off the brisket. I put it on low in the crockpot for 7 hours. It was so tender!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
You definitely have to be a pepper person - but my mom made this recipe 3 times, leaving out the cornstarch and wine, and going heavy on all the spices. It was spicy and delicious each time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
This was pretty good. I did skip the allspice since I didn't have any and used lotsa garlic. Lots. Did I mention I used a lot of garlic? Oh, and I used some red wine instead of white... it is red meat, afterall. Turned out nice. Made gravy with the remaining juice. I definitely would not consider this spicy at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
Nothing special here. The beef ended up tough. Even though we added extra corn starch the gravy was soupy and very oily, and in spite of the extra spices and garlic the flavor was bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2007
Great! My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Turner's Mom
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2006
I made this recipe for my brother last weekend while staying at his home. I forgot my recipe for beef brisket and turned to All Recipes. I was not able to find brisket at his local store, so i purchased 2 lbs of top round. I follows the instructions and put it in the crock pot for 7 hours on low then pulled the meet apart then, placed the meat back in the crock pot for about 1 1/2 hrs. I follow up with my brother the following day to see how he enjoyed the sandwiches. HE LOVED IT!!! COULD NOT STOP EATING THE MEAT!!! thanks for such a great treat for him.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2006
Nothing special at best. I cooked as directed except cutting the seasoned salt amount in half out of consideration for the amount of sodium in commercial broth. Upon tasting at the two-hour mark, I was disturbed that all I could taste was pepper, so I removed as many of the black peppercorns as I could at that point and added in the half a teaspoon of the allspice I had withheld based on another cook's comment. I hoped the full dose of allspice would mellow it out but could not taste it in the end. The final product was bland boiled beef with beef broth with a lot of heat, at least for this Northerner, but no taste. It is edible, but felt this was not worth the effort and definitely will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2006
We all loved this recipe, including my two picky kids. The meat was tender and lightly flavoured, the gravy was superb. I just wish I had made more 'cause there wasn't any left over for lunch. I added a diced onion to the stock, and used whole instead of ground allspice, but otherwise followed the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oakville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2005
This was a great brisket recipe! The meat was spiced all the way through and was quite tender for a brisket. I used slightly less allspice than it called for due to personal preference. The broth made a WONDERFUL gravy that we used to dip hot biscuits into. I had unexpected dinner guests the night I made it and they all raved about it! We'll make it again for certain!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chocolate_frenzie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Wine-Braised Beef Brisket

See how to make this tasty slow-cooked beef brisket.

Beef Brisket Sandwich

Incredibly tender beef brisket is piled high on a hoagie roll.

Peppercorn Roast Beef

See how to make juicy, pepper-crusted tri-tip roast beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States