Spicy Basil Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2014
Very good, and super easy. Tastes better than take out food too. Served it over oven roasted asparagus instead of rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
I skipped the garlic salt after reading the reviews but otherwise followed the recipe quite closely. There is little sauce and personally I would have preferred more. This was an ok dish but I will not make it again as there are many Thai dishes that are just as easy to make but so much nicer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
I was initially apprehensive about the lack of ingredients for flavourings, but this was delicious. I added buk choy, orange and purple carrots and broccoli florets for added flavour and to pack it out a bit and served over Jasmine rice. I also included a few mint leaves as the basil flavour was a little underwhelming. So quick and so easy, this will become a regular for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
Very tasty and definitely go with rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
I made this last night. Quick trip to the grocery store, no problem finding the chili oil or oyster sauce (oriental food section). I used crimini mushrooms and walla walla (yellow) onions and fresh thai basil and thai chilies (growing in my yard). Let me say this, I was frankly shocked at how good this recipe was and how easy and quick it was to prepare. Skill level- beginner. Taste- awesome. I read a lot of the reviews and I feel that if you try and swap out oyster sauce or fresh basil for something else, it just wont be as good. Those are essential ingredients in Thai food. Both of those items are readily available any time of the year in any grocery store. So if you are going to use this recipe go to the store. The oyster sauce bottle will make easily 5 recipes or more of this. I fully intend to repeat this often and pinned it as well. Totally awesome recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
This was really good. Just like from a restaurant. I cut down the heat by a third for both the chili oil and the red peppers and I still think mine was a 3 star heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Vivi
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
Loved this! Not only delish, but super easy and fast. My husband, who is very picky about trying new dishes loved it! I followed the recipe with minor changes. I seasoned the chicken pieces with the garlic salt and pepper before placing in wok. We love spicy, but I only used 2 red hot chilis and the heat was just right.I used 2 tsp. sugar to lower the saltiness and added 1/2 cup water to increase the sauce amount. I also used the entire carton of fresh mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Leverkusen, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
Yum! Replaced chili peppers with a teaspoon of pepper flakes and swapped the garlic salt for an extra minced garlic clove. Also stir fried rice noodles with the onions and mushroom - easy and delicious meal to prepare!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2014
I did not care for this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2014
This made a lot of extra sauce, so next time I'm going to try tossing it with some of those extra-wide rice noodles that come with Thai Drunken Noodles, I think that would complement the dish perfectly. I left out the garlic salt and added an extra clove, but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. We loved it, and did not find it too salty, and I'm pretty salt-sensitive. Maybe a good strategy is to start with two tablespoons of oyster sauce, then taste it frequently as you add more. My guess is that some oyster sauces are more salty than others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kennett Square, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 195) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States