Spicy Basil Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2005
Loved this recipe (with modifictions). I don't like mushrooms, or oyster sauce. Left them out, but added green beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2005
Very good! However, I found it to be very salty. When I watered down the oyster sauce (about 2 Tbsp to the 5 Tbsp of sauce), I was much happier with the results. Goes nicely with Thai noodles, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2006
Prepared with red pepper flakes (1 tsp) and thai chilli sauce w/ garlic (2 tsp) instead of chili oil and whole peppers. 1/2 tsp sugar and 2 tbsp oyster sauce. No garlic salt (heard it would be too salty). substituted some mushrooms and red bell peppers for onion (had none). Nice flavor. Next time, make more saucy. perfect degree of spiciness. boyfriend was alarmed that I used up half his basil plant for this one meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2007
This is a tasty dish. I would have given it 5 stars if it were saucier and moister.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Craig

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2007
I've been looking for some easy and authentic Thai recipes and this was great! I didn't have oyster sauce so I used 3 tbsp fish sauce, added some cilantro with the basil, and squeezed some lime right before serving. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2007
Very delicious meal! I decided to cut the mushrooms from the recipe, and it still turned out great! I also added a bit of cayenne. (Gave it an even spicier flavor.) Thank you very much, I really enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
Good recipe....tho a bit too spicy for me. I will cut back on the fire next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Angeles, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
Great recipe followed the spicing exactly! I also added green beans for some additional veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
Great quick dinner. I substituted 1 TBS of canola oil for the chili oil to bring the heat down and only added 4 TBS of oyster sauce to cut down on the salt. End result was perfect. Spicy, but not too hot. Hubby added a bit of extra chili oil at the table to bring up the heat a little. Would definitely make this again. Use lots of fresh whole basil leaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
This was absolutely soooo delish! And sooooo easy & quick. Perfect to make when you want something good but don't feel like cooking after coming home from a long day's work. I like my food strongly flavored so I did make some changes. I also took note of what other reviewers mentioned, I also wanted the dish to be saucy. Sooo I used:5 garlic cloves minced instead of the two suggested I didn't have chili oil or the money to buy it so I used olive oil (which I already had on hand) instead and added 1/2 teaspoon achiote powder to the oil for coloring and 1/2 teaspoon red pepper flakes for heat. I increased the sugar to 2 teaspoons because I added 1 cup of water and 1/2 cup of oyster sauce (instead of the 5 tablespoons suggested) to make it saucier. also added about 1 teaspoon of ginger powder. Forgot to mention, I also tossed in at the last moment for a crunch about 2 cups of green beans that had been halved. LOVED IT! I DEFINITELY WILL BE FORWARDING THE RECIPE TO FRIENDS AND THE BEST THING IS I DON'T HAVE TO COOK TOMORROW BECAUSE I HAVE A LITTLE LEFT OVER.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ds R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sabana Grande, Sabana Grande, Puerto Rico
Living In: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 188) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States