Spicy Basil Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 26, 2012
Delicious! Three of my favorite things: chicken, spice, and basil. I did omit the oyster sauce, simply because I didn't have it on hand. I also left out the mushrooms (because I hate them) and sugar (because it really doesn't need it). I added broccoli, which sucked up all the juice, making it fabulous. I did add a little bit of broth because I served it over jasmine rice, so I wanted the rice to pick up a little bit of liquid. It was a fairly spicy, so those with spice intolerance may want to drop the chili oil to 1 Tbs or so (but it was perfect for us). Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sonoma, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2012
Amazing! Where has this recipe all my life?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
Great recipe, but I have a few tips. Prep time takes longer than 15 minutes. Plan on 30, and you will be in the ballpark. 5 Tbsp of Oyster sauce, is slightly less than 1/3 cup. Finally, I added some diced red pepper to give it some color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
This was delicious. It needed something green so I added asparagus and green beans...It asked for 3 hot chili peppers. I went to the store and bought three different peppers. It had a great kick to it...not for people who do not like it hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larababe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
This was super easy to make and tasty!! My hubby loved it. I didn't have chili oil and I wish I did. I added a cup of water as another reviewer stated to thin out the sauce and lower the saltiness. The dish wasn't as spicy as I was expecting so I added some Sriracha to kick it up a notch. I also added red & orange bell peppers, broccoli, and zucchini. I will definitely make this again!! I also used brown rice. Next time I will try tofu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lippyTiffy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fleming Island, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
I made it several times, esp. when I had guests and everyone loved it. You could go creative with the sauce and add 3tbs of oyster sauce and 2 tbs of sweet chillie or chillie garlic sauce for diversity in flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
I make this a lot and love it. Sometimes I omit the peppers to make it less spicy but still good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by caguerrette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
Outstanding! Spicy and so Thai tasting! We used regular olive oil instead of chili oil and used 3 serrano peppers and the spice level was perfect - nice and spicy. Will pass this one along to friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
Sooo good. A bit too spicy for me but my husband loved it, eating the red Chile peppers whole. I had my warm green tea so that levelled the spicy. So excellent with the basil. Will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca Jo Stevens

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harlingen, Texas, USA
Living In: Boerne, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States