Spicy Basil Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
This was quite tasty. I followed all the directions except 1) I reduced the quantity of oyster sauce (5 tablespoons is a LOT), 2) omitted the salt (the oyster sauce has a salty flavor), 3) I added two cups of haricot vert for extra vegetables, and 4) instead of using chili oil, I just used a 1/2 teaspoon of Sambal Oelek red chili paste with regular vegetable oil. But the taste is great. Very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
This is a nice change to the normal chicken recipe, and a very easy entre to thai cooking (since i had never cookd thai before).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
I thought this was excellent. I used 2 chopped serrano chile peppers instead of 3 as some people said it was too spicy. It was just perfect for me, a nice kick but not overpowering. Will definitely make again. It was a little salty so next time may use garlic powder instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Belmont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
AWESOME! My hubby and I felt like we were in a Thai restaurant. I did make subs like a few other -- fish sauce instead of oyster sauce, coconut oil to cook the chicken and sweet chili sauce instead of the chili oil, sugar and peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Parker, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
I did not have the chili oil so I used olive oil instead. Also did not have the hot chili peppers so I used jalapeno pepper instead. I also used garlic powder instead of garlic salt. It turned out delicious with nice bite! Would definitely make again using the chili oil and pepper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
I tried this with ground beef, but I added a small amount of peppers. It still came out really good! My daughters loved it and they are both really picky eaters!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
YUM! I wasn't sure oyster sauce would be the right flavor in this dish, but IT IS! It tastes just like #9 at my favorite local Thai place (gai prig prow...I believe). I didn't have hot chiles, so I used chili garlic sauce (with the rooster...Sambal Oleck) and I added sliced red peppers onion and a can of bamboo shoots (to make it more like my favorite #9). It worked! This is on the repertoire for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
We really like this recipe with beef, using a tender cut. I've followed a few suggestions: 3 T fish sauce instead of oyster sauce and garlic powder instead of garlic salt. When adding the basil, I turn off the heat, throw the basil in the pan and cover. I let that sit for 5-10 minutes, stirring now and then; that way it gets less leafy. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norman, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
I think what really makes or breaks this dish is the oyster sauce and the basil you use. I think that sweet basil pairs well with this dish and the brand of oyster sauce I used was Good Luck which I didn't think was the best. I will try another brand next time. I didn't have chili oil so I used vegetable oil which was fine. I used 2 serrano chilies and 1 anaheim. I like spicy and it was plenty spicy enough. I almost threw in some Sriracha and I am glad I didn't. Overall it was really good and I will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ASU_DEVIL_WPCAREY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
easy and good...next time i will try with ground beef to make pad ga pow. i didn't have spicy oil so i used olive oil with some red pepper flakes instead. i also added onions and red peppers instead of mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PINKXG1RL

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 188) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States