Spicy Basil Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
Very tasty and definitely go with rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
I made this last night. Quick trip to the grocery store, no problem finding the chili oil or oyster sauce (oriental food section). I used crimini mushrooms and walla walla (yellow) onions and fresh thai basil and thai chilies (growing in my yard). Let me say this, I was frankly shocked at how good this recipe was and how easy and quick it was to prepare. Skill level- beginner. Taste- awesome. I read a lot of the reviews and I feel that if you try and swap out oyster sauce or fresh basil for something else, it just wont be as good. Those are essential ingredients in Thai food. Both of those items are readily available any time of the year in any grocery store. So if you are going to use this recipe go to the store. The oyster sauce bottle will make easily 5 recipes or more of this. I fully intend to repeat this often and pinned it as well. Totally awesome recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
This was really good. Just like from a restaurant. I cut down the heat by a third for both the chili oil and the red peppers and I still think mine was a 3 star heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Vivi
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
Loved this! Not only delish, but super easy and fast. My husband, who is very picky about trying new dishes loved it! I followed the recipe with minor changes. I seasoned the chicken pieces with the garlic salt and pepper before placing in wok. We love spicy, but I only used 2 red hot chilis and the heat was just right.I used 2 tsp. sugar to lower the saltiness and added 1/2 cup water to increase the sauce amount. I also used the entire carton of fresh mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Leverkusen, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
Yum! Replaced chili peppers with a teaspoon of pepper flakes and swapped the garlic salt for an extra minced garlic clove. Also stir fried rice noodles with the onions and mushroom - easy and delicious meal to prepare!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2014
I did not care for this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2014
This made a lot of extra sauce, so next time I'm going to try tossing it with some of those extra-wide rice noodles that come with Thai Drunken Noodles, I think that would complement the dish perfectly. I left out the garlic salt and added an extra clove, but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. We loved it, and did not find it too salty, and I'm pretty salt-sensitive. Maybe a good strategy is to start with two tablespoons of oyster sauce, then taste it frequently as you add more. My guess is that some oyster sauces are more salty than others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kennett Square, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
This was delicious. If you like spicy food, this is for you. I did what everyone else seemed to do and up the garlic to 5 cloves, 1 cup of water and 1/2 c oyster sauce because I was planning on adding udon noodles at the end. Noodles sucked that juice right up. I also used those little frozen basil cubes you can find in the freezer section instead of fresh because the grocery store didn't have fresh. I used a little more than half the tray and it tastes great! I almost had to wear a mask cooking this because it was so spicy, I was coughing! Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
We loved this recipe. Omitted chili oil because i didn't have it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
Being that this was the first time I cooked Thai food, I was nervous. I cut out the chili oil and took out one pepper and it turned out to be perfectly spicy. Really, really delicious recipe. Can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 192) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States