Spicy Basil Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
Great recipe followed the spicing exactly! I also added green beans for some additional veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2007
Very delicious meal! I decided to cut the mushrooms from the recipe, and it still turned out great! I also added a bit of cayenne. (Gave it an even spicier flavor.) Thank you very much, I really enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2005
Loved this recipe (with modifictions). I don't like mushrooms, or oyster sauce. Left them out, but added green beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2007
I've been looking for some easy and authentic Thai recipes and this was great! I didn't have oyster sauce so I used 3 tbsp fish sauce, added some cilantro with the basil, and squeezed some lime right before serving. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
This was excellent! And really easy too. I used thai chilli peppers, and only three, and it was very spicy! So in the end, I added a bit of brown sugar while still in the pan to cut the heat and it was delicious. Served over rice. Will make again for sure. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TORONTODENISE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bolton, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
Excellent! Didn't have oyster sauce, so subbed low-sodium chicken broth. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bjalg

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
Yummy! I loved this! It was just delicious over brown rice with a side of green beans. I too, like a saucier meal, so I followed the person who added 5 cloves of garlic, one cup of water, and 1/2 cup of oyster sauce - except I used fish sauce - I couldn't find oyster sauce. It was great! The only thing I forgot to do was add more chilis because I like mine really hot. It was still amazingly good though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
This is a great recipe. I made sure to pound the chicken so it was thin and added a little bell pepper for extra flavor. Really great over some egg noodles!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
I feel like a great Thai chef after having prepared this dish! Some hints: 1) I left out the garlic salt so the dish wouldn't be too salty and it wasn't missing at all. 2)I added yellow bell peppers and can't imagine the dish without them. They were necessary. 3) I wanted SUPER spicy, so I used chopped green chile peppers in the chicken saute as specified AND I added some crushed red pepper flakes. It produced tears - perfect! Overall, excellent, simple recipe that you can easily modify for your specific tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarahschaffer33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
I used dried crushed pepper since I didn't have chili oil or any fresh hot peppers. My plan was to use dried basil since I didn't have any fresh basil, but it tasted so good before I got to the adding basil part that I was afraid or ruining it with the dried basil. I added fresh sweet pepper and sugar snap peas and it was great. No leftovers. I will definitely make again when I have fresh basil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 193) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States