Spicy Basil Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 5, 2008
DELICIOUS! I am a huge Thai food fan because of the complex flavors Thai dishes have. This was my first try at making Thai and I must say I was really impressed! It tasted robust and flavorful, was super easy to make. The ingredients were sort of difficult to find at a smaller supermarket, but I went to Cost Plus World Market and found the chile oil, oyster sauce, etc. Worth the hunt! I love that its all made in one pan - less clean up! I served over sticky rice. The only comment is that it came out very spicy when made as directed. I personally love spiciness, so does my boyfriend, but his mom couldn't eat it due to the heat. You can omit the hot peppers or use olive oil instead of chile oil to take it down a notch. I'll make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZZY9VOLT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2005
Loved this recipe (with modifictions). I don't like mushrooms, or oyster sauce. Left them out, but added green beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2007
I've been looking for some easy and authentic Thai recipes and this was great! I didn't have oyster sauce so I used 3 tbsp fish sauce, added some cilantro with the basil, and squeezed some lime right before serving. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
I thought this recipe was just OK due to saltiness. I followed the directions pretty closely unlike many of the reviewers here. The only change I made was to use garlic powder instead of garlic salt and I still found this recipe to be VERY salty. The salt comes from the oyster sauce, and 5 tablespoons is about half of a small bottle of it. Bottom line if you like your food very salty go for it but otherwise I'd reccomend trying some of the other reviewers' suggestions for cutting the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2006
Prepared with red pepper flakes (1 tsp) and thai chilli sauce w/ garlic (2 tsp) instead of chili oil and whole peppers. 1/2 tsp sugar and 2 tbsp oyster sauce. No garlic salt (heard it would be too salty). substituted some mushrooms and red bell peppers for onion (had none). Nice flavor. Next time, make more saucy. perfect degree of spiciness. boyfriend was alarmed that I used up half his basil plant for this one meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
This was absolutely soooo delish! And sooooo easy & quick. Perfect to make when you want something good but don't feel like cooking after coming home from a long day's work. I like my food strongly flavored so I did make some changes. I also took note of what other reviewers mentioned, I also wanted the dish to be saucy. Sooo I used:5 garlic cloves minced instead of the two suggested I didn't have chili oil or the money to buy it so I used olive oil (which I already had on hand) instead and added 1/2 teaspoon achiote powder to the oil for coloring and 1/2 teaspoon red pepper flakes for heat. I increased the sugar to 2 teaspoons because I added 1 cup of water and 1/2 cup of oyster sauce (instead of the 5 tablespoons suggested) to make it saucier. also added about 1 teaspoon of ginger powder. Forgot to mention, I also tossed in at the last moment for a crunch about 2 cups of green beans that had been halved. LOVED IT! I DEFINITELY WILL BE FORWARDING THE RECIPE TO FRIENDS AND THE BEST THING IS I DON'T HAVE TO COOK TOMORROW BECAUSE I HAVE A LITTLE LEFT OVER.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ds R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sabana Grande, Sabana Grande, Puerto Rico
Living In: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
I used dried crushed pepper since I didn't have chili oil or any fresh hot peppers. My plan was to use dried basil since I didn't have any fresh basil, but it tasted so good before I got to the adding basil part that I was afraid or ruining it with the dried basil. I added fresh sweet pepper and sugar snap peas and it was great. No leftovers. I will definitely make again when I have fresh basil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
This meal is fantastic! It's different from the same old chicken and is not too spicy for the non-spicy lover. I had to buy a lot of items for this recipe, so I made adjustments where I could to save money. I used olive oil instead of chili oil, and used about 1 and a half tsp dried basil (from a spice rack I already had) instead of fresh. For the hot peppers, I wasn't sure what to buy, so I bought three small peppers that the produce man said were not too hot. I cut out the insides and sliced into circles to make it pretty. Also, I couldn't find oyster sauce, only "oyster-flavoured sauce" but it worked fine. I used a small can of mushrooms too, because I hate having leftover mushrooms in the fridge that I know I'll never use, but that doesn't really matter all that much. It turned out delicious, juicy, flavourful and not too spicy, although I did drink lots of water with it. It has a wonderful kick. Definitely serve with rice. My hubby gave this five stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
Nice recipe. This is my favourite Thai dish, and this was a great comparison. I used A LOT of basil and skipped the garlic salt (just used regular salt), as I like the flavour of real garlic. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2005
Very good! However, I found it to be very salty. When I watered down the oyster sauce (about 2 Tbsp to the 5 Tbsp of sauce), I was much happier with the results. Goes nicely with Thai noodles, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 192) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States