Spicy Basil Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
I have family cooking nights at my house almost every week and this is by far one of my family's favorite recipes. I followed this dish almost exactly and it was easy, spicy and healthy. The only change I made was adding red and green bell peppers. I will definitely make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikkihvw

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
Just Ok, wasn't a stand out. I was glad to find a recipe tho' to use up my garden's bounty of Thai basil. It made the dish taste very unique. Both my hubby and I agreed that using Italian Basil would not be the same effect as it would lose its Asian influence. To each his own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Shirley, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
GREAT Recipe! I didn't have mushrooms so I substitued with summer squash. It was fantastic!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLowe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
Really easy, I also cut down on the spice and added peppers. Everyone loved it and it was easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
Really good. Very close to a Thai rest near us. I upped the chiles a bit much the first time and it was almost too hot to eat. I also used about a cup of water and some corn starch to thicken it up at the end. We like some sauce for the rice so it was perfect for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
This was pretty good, although sweeter than what I'm used to for basil chicken...next time I'd try it without the sugar. I used chili garlic paste and vegetable oil instead of chili oil (couldn't find it at the grocery store). And I had to use regular basil instead of Thai basil, but otherwise I followed the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
Great recipe. I couldn't find chili oil so I used 1 tbs. olive oil and 1 tbs. toasted sesame oil. I used 4 tbs. oyster sauce to reduce sodium as other reviewers suggested, and it was perfect. Had trouble finding peppers with enough heat, so added a little crushed red pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
This turned out great. It actually ended up being close to the Basil Chicken we eat at our local Thai restaurant. I did make a few changes. First, I used ground chicken, as the restaurant we go to uses ground, not boneless. I didn't have any chile peppers, but I did have a chile paste, so I used that in place. Also, didn't have any thai basil, so used regular. I was worried that it would ruin it. It didnt' ruin it, but can definitley tell a difference between thai basil and the regular basil you buy from the store. Oh, and I think that in order to achieve the truly authentic taste, fresh basil is a must, even if it's not thai basil. Served with Jasmine rice. It turned out spicier than I thought it would, using the chile paste, but I would still do it that way next time. I was worried it might be too spicy for my daughter, but she liked it! Mind you, I add cayenne pepper to almost everything I cook, so almost everything we eat has a little heat. THis was definitley more than what my daughter is used to. My husband and I love the spiciness. Oh man, was this good. Just writing this review has me wanting it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
DELICIOUS!!!!I've made this many times and have given the recipe to my son and my friends. It is so easy, so yummy! I always double it and make extra sauce, and I always add a little water and a small packet of G. Washingtons golden broth powder. We all love it, even my 16 year old son. Great recipe! Thanks! I also ALWAYS make the coconut rice from AR to go with this...so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Pere, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 198) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States