Spicy Basil Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
I'm sorry, but this was just plain not to our taste. I don't know what caused me to dislike it so much, but I won't be fixing it again. Sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
This dish was delicious! We served it for 5 people and the only alteration we made was adding 2 teaspoons of fish sauce and about 4-5 teaspoons of soy sauce in place of the oyster sauce. WARNING: We used habanero peppers (3 red ones). They added a tasty kick to the dish, but my finger tips were on fire! For those that have never experienced a similiar feeling, I will liken it to dipping your fingers into a boiling volcano. We tried vinegar, rubbing alcohol, and the only relief came from soaking my finger tips in a tub of cold sour cream. Upon removing my fingers, the horrific fire-like sensation lasted until the sleep aid kicked in-seriously. All fingers were fine the next morning. I will NEVER make the mistake of touching those again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
We loved this recipe, however we did make some adjustments. I added maybe one of the hot peppers rather than three. It was hot enough for me, I don't think I could have eaten it if I had added all three. I also added a little less than 5 tablespoons of oyster sauce because it is so strong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
This recipe is awesome! I made it exactly as stated and had seconds...which is something that I never usually do. I love this in the Thai restaurant but this is so good that it can more than meet any cravings I will have for this in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
Fantastic! Just what I was looking for. I used chili oil as instructed and 1-1/2 tsp crushed red pepper flakes, slightly precooked fresh green beans, sliced red bell pepper, and large chunks of celery. I, too, am a vegetarian and so used 3 tbsp Bragg's Liquid Amino instead of oyster sauce and 2 tbsp water. Instead of chicken I coated and fried 1/2" slices of extra firm tofu in a seperate pan. Served with Jasmine rice. It didn't make enough leftovers for two and so will adjust for that next time I make this—which will be very soon! Thanks so much, and happy new year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
This was delicious. Even my father, who highly prefers traditional Punjabi cuisine, enjoyed this chicken and had seconds. Note: I had to add a few tablespoons of water towards the end, as the chicken was not fully cooked and was beginning to stick to the pan. Also added a pinch more salt and cilantro for extra flavor. Marinating over night helped too. So easy! A definite keeper :) Thank you for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rima

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
Pretty good, not out of this world, i.m.o. My store was out of real oyster sauce, so I had to use "oyster-flavored sauce." Following other reviewers I used 3 T. and that was plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
Excellent dish. Added chopped cilantro (about a 1/4 cup) and the lime juice from 1/4 wedge of lime. Didn't have peppers so I added a little dried red pepper flakes and used dried basil instead of fresh. ONE WORD OF CAUTION - if you arent used to using the hot chili oil when you add the chicken it may atomize and/or smoke a bit in the kitchen and cause some breathing irritation. I made this in the fire station and cleared the kitchen with everyone coughing. Our ventilation fan does not keep up with the smoke/vapor production.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Puyallup, Washington, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
Wonderful and fast for a week night dinner. I used chicken thighs and added chili sauce. The second time I made it, I added fresh asparagus for a complete meal. This has become one of my favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Uniontown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
This is a really easy, flavourful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 198) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States