Spicy Basil Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
Delicious!!! Will be on my list of favourites. Didn't have oyster sauce so used dark soy sauce instead. Everybody loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jools

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Southampton, Hampshire, England, U.K.
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
The oyster sauce was overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanya

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
i really enjoyed this dish. wish i made more sauce. i could just eat the sauce with rice. i did not use garlic salt just garlic powder and it was fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
I didn't use the garlic salt as per one reviewer and this came out sooo good. We had it with Spinach and Buttermilk soup from this site. I will definitly make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marilyn Hammond

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
Spicy and delicious...I used carribean hot peppers and it had a really nice, spicy flavor and was easy to prepare...did I mention it was spicy?!? Since my boyfriend and I like to set our mouths on fire at least 3 times a week, this one is a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IrishEyes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
I'm sorry, but this was just plain not to our taste. I don't know what caused me to dislike it so much, but I won't be fixing it again. Sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
This dish was delicious! We served it for 5 people and the only alteration we made was adding 2 teaspoons of fish sauce and about 4-5 teaspoons of soy sauce in place of the oyster sauce. WARNING: We used habanero peppers (3 red ones). They added a tasty kick to the dish, but my finger tips were on fire! For those that have never experienced a similiar feeling, I will liken it to dipping your fingers into a boiling volcano. We tried vinegar, rubbing alcohol, and the only relief came from soaking my finger tips in a tub of cold sour cream. Upon removing my fingers, the horrific fire-like sensation lasted until the sleep aid kicked in-seriously. All fingers were fine the next morning. I will NEVER make the mistake of touching those again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
We loved this recipe, however we did make some adjustments. I added maybe one of the hot peppers rather than three. It was hot enough for me, I don't think I could have eaten it if I had added all three. I also added a little less than 5 tablespoons of oyster sauce because it is so strong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
This recipe is awesome! I made it exactly as stated and had seconds...which is something that I never usually do. I love this in the Thai restaurant but this is so good that it can more than meet any cravings I will have for this in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
Fantastic! Just what I was looking for. I used chili oil as instructed and 1-1/2 tsp crushed red pepper flakes, slightly precooked fresh green beans, sliced red bell pepper, and large chunks of celery. I, too, am a vegetarian and so used 3 tbsp Bragg's Liquid Amino instead of oyster sauce and 2 tbsp water. Instead of chicken I coated and fried 1/2" slices of extra firm tofu in a seperate pan. Served with Jasmine rice. It didn't make enough leftovers for two and so will adjust for that next time I make this—which will be very soon! Thanks so much, and happy new year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 203) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States