Spicy Basil Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
This recipe is really too spicy for me, but it still is a good and tasty stir fry! I had to order the chili oil off of the internet, because my local grocery store does not sell it. I used Serrano chile peppers for the hot chile peppers, and served it over Basmati rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kriston Scott

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bartlesville, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Lewistown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
amazing! I used sweet thair chilli sauce and less oyster sauce- tasted very authentic to me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
Excellent dish! Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Celly Belly

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
I followed the recipe exactly. It was ok to me. Almost bland. Everyone else liked it a lot but I'm not sure I'll make it again. Nothing personal. It just wasn't "me" if that makes any sense. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPEARFISHER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Demopolis, Alabama, USA
Living In: Gulf Shores, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
I can't begin to say how great this recipe is but I'm going to try. I was attempting to reproduce my favorite recipe from my favorite Thai restaurant, and I think I've come close. I have made this twice in the last week. The first time I didn't make it very spicy and it had a wonderful sweet flavor. The second made my lips catch fire! It was great both times. Both times I did the following: I do not have chili oil, so I used 1 T sesame and 1 T olive oil. A heaping tablespoon of minced garlic and skipped the garlic salt. Definitely less than 1 tsp fresh black pepper (I get bored of grinding). Did 3 T Vegetarian Mushroom Oyster Oil and 2 T Hoisin Sauce. I also added a red bell pepper with the mushrooms/onion. And I love basil so I did about 3/4 cup coarsely chopped basil leaves. For the heat - the first time I added 1.5 tsps of a red pepper mix that I picked up from the above mentioned Thai restaurant. The 2nd time I used the same amount of the red pepper mix but threw in a VERY HOT large red pepper, finely chopped. My lips are still on fire and I want more. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Sandy, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
Delicious!!! Will be on my list of favourites. Didn't have oyster sauce so used dark soy sauce instead. Everybody loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Southampton, Hampshire, England, U.K.
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
The oyster sauce was overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanya

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
i really enjoyed this dish. wish i made more sauce. i could just eat the sauce with rice. i did not use garlic salt just garlic powder and it was fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
I didn't use the garlic salt as per one reviewer and this came out sooo good. We had it with Spinach and Buttermilk soup from this site. I will definitly make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marilyn Hammond

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
Spicy and delicious...I used carribean hot peppers and it had a really nice, spicy flavor and was easy to prepare...did I mention it was spicy?!? Since my boyfriend and I like to set our mouths on fire at least 3 times a week, this one is a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IrishEyes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 198) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States