Spicy Basil Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
i really enjoyed this dish. wish i made more sauce. i could just eat the sauce with rice. i did not use garlic salt just garlic powder and it was fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
I didn't use the garlic salt as per one reviewer and this came out sooo good. We had it with Spinach and Buttermilk soup from this site. I will definitly make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marilyn Hammond

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
Spicy and delicious...I used carribean hot peppers and it had a really nice, spicy flavor and was easy to prepare...did I mention it was spicy?!? Since my boyfriend and I like to set our mouths on fire at least 3 times a week, this one is a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IrishEyes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
I'm sorry, but this was just plain not to our taste. I don't know what caused me to dislike it so much, but I won't be fixing it again. Sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
This dish was delicious! We served it for 5 people and the only alteration we made was adding 2 teaspoons of fish sauce and about 4-5 teaspoons of soy sauce in place of the oyster sauce. WARNING: We used habanero peppers (3 red ones). They added a tasty kick to the dish, but my finger tips were on fire! For those that have never experienced a similiar feeling, I will liken it to dipping your fingers into a boiling volcano. We tried vinegar, rubbing alcohol, and the only relief came from soaking my finger tips in a tub of cold sour cream. Upon removing my fingers, the horrific fire-like sensation lasted until the sleep aid kicked in-seriously. All fingers were fine the next morning. I will NEVER make the mistake of touching those again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
We loved this recipe, however we did make some adjustments. I added maybe one of the hot peppers rather than three. It was hot enough for me, I don't think I could have eaten it if I had added all three. I also added a little less than 5 tablespoons of oyster sauce because it is so strong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
This recipe is awesome! I made it exactly as stated and had seconds...which is something that I never usually do. I love this in the Thai restaurant but this is so good that it can more than meet any cravings I will have for this in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
Fantastic! Just what I was looking for. I used chili oil as instructed and 1-1/2 tsp crushed red pepper flakes, slightly precooked fresh green beans, sliced red bell pepper, and large chunks of celery. I, too, am a vegetarian and so used 3 tbsp Bragg's Liquid Amino instead of oyster sauce and 2 tbsp water. Instead of chicken I coated and fried 1/2" slices of extra firm tofu in a seperate pan. Served with Jasmine rice. It didn't make enough leftovers for two and so will adjust for that next time I make this—which will be very soon! Thanks so much, and happy new year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
This was delicious. Even my father, who highly prefers traditional Punjabi cuisine, enjoyed this chicken and had seconds. Note: I had to add a few tablespoons of water towards the end, as the chicken was not fully cooked and was beginning to stick to the pan. Also added a pinch more salt and cilantro for extra flavor. Marinating over night helped too. So easy! A definite keeper :) Thank you for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rima

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
Pretty good, not out of this world, i.m.o. My store was out of real oyster sauce, so I had to use "oyster-flavored sauce." Following other reviewers I used 3 T. and that was plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 191) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States