Spicy Basil Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
We really like this recipe with beef, using a tender cut. I've followed a few suggestions: 3 T fish sauce instead of oyster sauce and garlic powder instead of garlic salt. When adding the basil, I turn off the heat, throw the basil in the pan and cover. I let that sit for 5-10 minutes, stirring now and then; that way it gets less leafy. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norman, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
I think what really makes or breaks this dish is the oyster sauce and the basil you use. I think that sweet basil pairs well with this dish and the brand of oyster sauce I used was Good Luck which I didn't think was the best. I will try another brand next time. I didn't have chili oil so I used vegetable oil which was fine. I used 2 serrano chilies and 1 anaheim. I like spicy and it was plenty spicy enough. I almost threw in some Sriracha and I am glad I didn't. Overall it was really good and I will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ASU_DEVIL_WPCAREY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
easy and good...next time i will try with ground beef to make pad ga pow. i didn't have spicy oil so i used olive oil with some red pepper flakes instead. i also added onions and red peppers instead of mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PINKXG1RL

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2009
This was awesome. I took the advice of other reviews and used 4 tablespoons of oyster sauce and 1/2 cup of water. It turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tray_H

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
Great recipe, I didn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
Very good, but I used the thai sweet chili sauce instead of the oyster sauce (and omitted the sugar). I did not have chili oil or hot chilis so improvised with chili powder. I also added some water to create a sauce and served it over pasta. I definately will make it again, but might add some finely chopped tomato for more color. (Hint: don't eat this while breastfeeding! Woops, unhappy baby today!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LoveNCyprus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Malaga, Andalucia, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
Yummy! Made it for a dinner party, everyone liked it! Next time, I may take out the oyster sauce, it had a wierd smell to it (but no one else thought it was wierd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sam Az

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
Excellent! I took other reviewers suggestions and did the following: eliminated the oyster sauce and garlic salt and used a little fish sauce instead; added some broth, carrots, scallions and mushrooms. Served it with brown rice for a hearty, healthy, and filling meal. Next time I might add some lime juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2009
Very easy to make and good flavors, but I have to agree with a lot of other reviewers... very salty. Cut down on fish sauce and no garlic salt needed!! I would maybe add some vege/chicken broth to make a bit more saucy. Chili oil and 2 serrano chile peppers gave just enough heat... any more peppers would have been too hot for my taste (but I'm a wimp!). I would also add another onion to give more substance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2009
Very good! Entirely too salty, though! I haven't tried it, but would suspect, that adding an extra clove or two of garlic, eliminating the garlic salt and using 1/4 to 1/2 teaspoon of regular salt would achieve superior results. I will definitely try this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clifford Randall Lyde

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hobart, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Midlothian, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 201) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States