Spicy Basil Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: May 10, 2009
I didn't make this spicy since my kids don't like spicy foods. A lot of basil will definitely make this a winner :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ONIOND
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
My boyfriend loved it, said it was one of the best dinners I ever made :) The only thing I didn't have was chili oil, so I added crushed red pepper to the olive oil I browned the garlic and peppers in. Served over rice noodles. I loved the fresh basil flavor and did not find it too salty, although I did not add salt and pepper. I have been commanded to make this one again, thanks for a great recipe! UPDATE: Made this again with sweet Vidalia onions and portobello mushrooms...superb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
This was good, but I do think it needed more sauce and some more veggies other than the mushrooms and onions.. maybe water chestnuts and carrots? Anyway.. I also didn't add the full amoutnof peppers because I thought it would be too hot. Next time I'll add more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
This recipe is really too spicy for me, but it still is a good and tasty stir fry! I had to order the chili oil off of the internet, because my local grocery store does not sell it. I used Serrano chile peppers for the hot chile peppers, and served it over Basmati rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRISTON SCOTT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bartlesville, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Lewistown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
amazing! I used sweet thair chilli sauce and less oyster sauce- tasted very authentic to me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
Excellent dish! Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Celly Belly

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
I followed the recipe exactly. It was ok to me. Almost bland. Everyone else liked it a lot but I'm not sure I'll make it again. Nothing personal. It just wasn't "me" if that makes any sense. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPEARFISHER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Demopolis, Alabama, USA
Living In: Gulf Shores, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
I can't begin to say how great this recipe is but I'm going to try. I was attempting to reproduce my favorite recipe from my favorite Thai restaurant, and I think I've come close. I have made this twice in the last week. The first time I didn't make it very spicy and it had a wonderful sweet flavor. The second made my lips catch fire! It was great both times. Both times I did the following: I do not have chili oil, so I used 1 T sesame and 1 T olive oil. A heaping tablespoon of minced garlic and skipped the garlic salt. Definitely less than 1 tsp fresh black pepper (I get bored of grinding). Did 3 T Vegetarian Mushroom Oyster Oil and 2 T Hoisin Sauce. I also added a red bell pepper with the mushrooms/onion. And I love basil so I did about 3/4 cup coarsely chopped basil leaves. For the heat - the first time I added 1.5 tsps of a red pepper mix that I picked up from the above mentioned Thai restaurant. The 2nd time I used the same amount of the red pepper mix but threw in a VERY HOT large red pepper, finely chopped. My lips are still on fire and I want more. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Sandy, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
Delicious!!! Will be on my list of favourites. Didn't have oyster sauce so used dark soy sauce instead. Everybody loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Southampton, Hampshire, England, U.K.
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
The oyster sauce was overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanya

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 191) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States