Spicy Basil Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
AWESOME! My hubby and I felt like we were in a Thai restaurant. I did make subs like a few other -- fish sauce instead of oyster sauce, coconut oil to cook the chicken and sweet chili sauce instead of the chili oil, sugar and peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Parker, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
I did not have the chili oil so I used olive oil instead. Also did not have the hot chili peppers so I used jalapeno pepper instead. I also used garlic powder instead of garlic salt. It turned out delicious with nice bite! Would definitely make again using the chili oil and pepper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
I tried this with ground beef, but I added a small amount of peppers. It still came out really good! My daughters loved it and they are both really picky eaters!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
YUM! I wasn't sure oyster sauce would be the right flavor in this dish, but IT IS! It tastes just like #9 at my favorite local Thai place (gai prig prow...I believe). I didn't have hot chiles, so I used chili garlic sauce (with the rooster...Sambal Oleck) and I added sliced red peppers onion and a can of bamboo shoots (to make it more like my favorite #9). It worked! This is on the repertoire for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
We really like this recipe with beef, using a tender cut. I've followed a few suggestions: 3 T fish sauce instead of oyster sauce and garlic powder instead of garlic salt. When adding the basil, I turn off the heat, throw the basil in the pan and cover. I let that sit for 5-10 minutes, stirring now and then; that way it gets less leafy. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norman, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
I think what really makes or breaks this dish is the oyster sauce and the basil you use. I think that sweet basil pairs well with this dish and the brand of oyster sauce I used was Good Luck which I didn't think was the best. I will try another brand next time. I didn't have chili oil so I used vegetable oil which was fine. I used 2 serrano chilies and 1 anaheim. I like spicy and it was plenty spicy enough. I almost threw in some Sriracha and I am glad I didn't. Overall it was really good and I will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ASU_DEVIL_WPCAREY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
easy and good...next time i will try with ground beef to make pad ga pow. i didn't have spicy oil so i used olive oil with some red pepper flakes instead. i also added onions and red peppers instead of mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PINKXG1RL

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2009
This was awesome. I took the advice of other reviews and used 4 tablespoons of oyster sauce and 1/2 cup of water. It turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tray_H

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
Great recipe, I didn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
Very good, but I used the thai sweet chili sauce instead of the oyster sauce (and omitted the sugar). I did not have chili oil or hot chilis so improvised with chili powder. I also added some water to create a sauce and served it over pasta. I definately will make it again, but might add some finely chopped tomato for more color. (Hint: don't eat this while breastfeeding! Woops, unhappy baby today!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LoveNCyprus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Malaga, Andalucia, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 195) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States