Spicy Basil Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
Yummy! Made it for a dinner party, everyone liked it! Next time, I may take out the oyster sauce, it had a wierd smell to it (but no one else thought it was wierd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sameera Azad

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
Excellent! I took other reviewers suggestions and did the following: eliminated the oyster sauce and garlic salt and used a little fish sauce instead; added some broth, carrots, scallions and mushrooms. Served it with brown rice for a hearty, healthy, and filling meal. Next time I might add some lime juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2009
Very easy to make and good flavors, but I have to agree with a lot of other reviewers... very salty. Cut down on fish sauce and no garlic salt needed!! I would maybe add some vege/chicken broth to make a bit more saucy. Chili oil and 2 serrano chile peppers gave just enough heat... any more peppers would have been too hot for my taste (but I'm a wimp!). I would also add another onion to give more substance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2009
Very good! Entirely too salty, though! I haven't tried it, but would suspect, that adding an extra clove or two of garlic, eliminating the garlic salt and using 1/4 to 1/2 teaspoon of regular salt would achieve superior results. I will definitely try this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RandyRandy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hobart, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Midlothian, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2009
I didn't make this spicy since my kids don't like spicy foods. A lot of basil will definitely make this a winner :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ONIOND
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
My boyfriend loved it, said it was one of the best dinners I ever made :) The only thing I didn't have was chili oil, so I added crushed red pepper to the olive oil I browned the garlic and peppers in. Served over rice noodles. I loved the fresh basil flavor and did not find it too salty, although I did not add salt and pepper. I have been commanded to make this one again, thanks for a great recipe! UPDATE: Made this again with sweet Vidalia onions and portobello mushrooms...superb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
This was good, but I do think it needed more sauce and some more veggies other than the mushrooms and onions.. maybe water chestnuts and carrots? Anyway.. I also didn't add the full amoutnof peppers because I thought it would be too hot. Next time I'll add more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
This recipe is really too spicy for me, but it still is a good and tasty stir fry! I had to order the chili oil off of the internet, because my local grocery store does not sell it. I used Serrano chile peppers for the hot chile peppers, and served it over Basmati rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRISTON SCOTT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bartlesville, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
amazing! I used sweet thair chilli sauce and less oyster sauce- tasted very authentic to me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
Excellent dish! Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Celly Belly

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 185) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy Kung Pao chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States