Spicy Basil Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
I completely left out the oyster sauce to keep it kosher- but it still tasted delicious. The key is absolutely to use fresh herbs. Dry basil flakes would just not cut it in this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KasieStrickland

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Easley, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
SO great! I made it twice in one week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paj88
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
This dish was really good. I altered it a bit, but it was awesome! I didn't like the mushroom (not big on mushrooms). I added yellow bell pepper, yellow onion, and made it extra spicy for my spice level! Thanks! I give it two thumbs up!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
Thank you! This was fantastic and fast! The recipe really lent itself well to the substitutions I needed to make; red pepper flakes and hot chili sesame oil instead of chili peppers, a little fish sauce instead of oyster sauce. If I were going to make this again, I wonder... what KIND of hot chile pepper should I get?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ADONNER

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
This recipe was DELICIOUS! Sweet and spicy, very easy to make, and better than the basil chicken I ordered from a local Thai place a few weeks ago! This is definitely going into the regular rotation. Substitutions: 2 tablespoons chili oil (didn't have this so I used 1tsp Goya hot yellow pepper paste, few dashes of hot sauce, and olive oil) 2 cloves garlic (used 3-4) 3 hot chile peppers (couldn't find these, so I used one jalapeno pepper) 1 1/2 teaspoons white sugar (didn't have this so I used 1.5 tsp brown sugar) 1 teaspoon garlic salt (added 2 more cloves of garlic instead) 5 tablespoons oyster sauce (due to reviews about it being too salty, I only used 2.5 tbsp) 1 bunch fresh basil leaves (use a lot!) I cooked fresh green beans separately and served it over that instead of rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
This recipe was INCREDIBLE. We followed it exactly (except, you know, dicing the garlic, peppers, mushrooms, and onions, which wasn't specified), and it was out of this world. Definitely going into our recipe book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
Very Good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
This is a great recipe, it is easy to make and combines a lot of different flavors. Both my boyfriend and I agreed this should be added to favorites. I made a few modifications, I omitted the chilis as he is a bit of a weiner and cannot handle heat. I added half a fresh red pepper and a 1/2 a cups worth of bean sprouts as we had it in the fridge fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
This has become a regular dish at our house. Very tasty with fresh green beans! I added greenbeans instead of using rice as I try to cut carbs where I can.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Berry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
I live in Thailand. I used ground chicken like they do here. This recipe is as good as it gets! VERY GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 188) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy Kung Pao chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States