Spicy Banana Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Jessica.nemec
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
This is phenomenal! I tried it out because of how weird it sounded, and am so glad I did. I tasted the sauce pre-banana and was a bit worried, but the banana balances everything out beautifully. Also, my boyfriend can't have onions, but the omission of those did not adversely affect anything. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
I halved the recipe and it still made about 6 servings (I served over rice). I subbed coconut oil for sunflower and coconut milk for yogurt. I think this recipe has a lot of potential to be a 5 star recipe, it just needs a few tweaks. Next time, I will try using coconut milk and yogurt like a couple of the other reviewers did... and possibly less curry paste and some garam masala in its place.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
This is absolutely delicious, but it lacks texture. I like my curries over rice, so I did the same thing as another reviewer and added a can of coconut milk and served it over some rice. Even then, it still needs a little something. Next time, I am going to try adding some tofu or chicken for a little more textural interest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mentor, Ohio, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
Rich and flavorful. Made verbatim. Mild to Medium spice level depending on your personal heat tolerance. I wouldn't sit down and eat a platter of it like a 5-star dish, but as a member of a medley, family-style dinner, it is very good. We originally garnished per the illustration - a banana slice with some coconut. On the second serving, we garnished more liberally with bananas (three angled slices per serving)and it made a positive impact. Food for thought...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
try adding garam masala and cayenne pepper, mmmmm. Super yummy! i used raisins instead of coconut and used a whole banana, i served it on top of oatmeal for a slap in the face breakfast. And i made it for one, but was able to get 2 servings out of it, woot, woot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
Very good! I replaced the yogurt with coconut milk, used tomato sauce instead of chopped tomatoes, added broccoli and shrimp, and halved most of the spices (1/2 cup of curry powder plus 4 teaspoon of turmeric would have been way too much.) It ended up being a great, creamy sauce that went wonderfully on red rice. I also took the advice of another review and halved the whole recipe (2 servings instead of 4,) which was spot on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Matthew Perrett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pacifica, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
A pretty decent starting point. I had to halve the recipe because it makes a whole lot (it still made a lot, even halved) and used canned tomatoes instead of diced fresh. The end result was hot but not as flavorful as I'd like. I tried to tweak the spices to suit my taste a little more, but something seems missing... the idea of a banana curry recipe is good, but I'm not quite sure this is the one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
dis is the shizzle biscuit .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Spicy Indian Chicken and Mango Curry

Make a sensational Indian curry that’s both creamy and spicy.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States