Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by MommyFromSeattle
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2007
Good cooking method, but the original recipe is not so tasty. Made this to a T the first time and all I tasted was taco seasoning, taking away from the nice, sweet flavor of the sweet potato. So since then, I've tossed the potatoes in a large ziploc bag, drizzled with olive oil (about 1-2 tablespoon), and lightly sprinkle with kosher salt, sometimes with pepper if the kids aren't eating and toss to coat. I bake the first 20 min. on 400, last 15-20 min. on 425. 1 hour is too much and burns them. I've dipped these in ranch sauce (kid's fav), garllic aioli or just eat plain. Good way to get the kids to eat sweet potatoes without frying - full of vitamin A and beta carotene. Also great with steak dinners. 2 stars for original recipe - 5 stars with changes. Tip - put a greased sheet of foil on your cookie sheet - no sticking and no mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1355 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyFromSeattle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2005
I'm giving this recipe five stars because I want people to *try* it. However, with the minor changes below!! I made them and, sure enough, they burned on the bottom. Didn't even need to flip them; the top was crispy enough. My suggestions pretty much go along with the rest listed in the reviews: Cook at a lower temp ~ between 400-425 (NOT 450!) I cut them into approx. 1/4" sticks (regardless of the size, I still think a lower temp is necessary to stop burning). I just used kosher salt and fresh ground pepper, olive oil..tossed in a bowl to coat. No extra spices. Most certainly coat your cookie sheets with oil and you really do need to put them in single layers. Follow these tips, and you should enjoy crispy, healthy, tasty sweet potato fries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
735 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2006
These were excellent! I used olive oil in place of canola, and Cajun seasoning instead of taco seasoning. Also lowered the temperature to 400F for the first 30 minutes and turned it up to 425F for the last half of baking. The key to keeping these from sticking is spraying the pan with cooking spray - I had no troubles. They were soft and crispy all at once and were fantastic paired with the Actually Delicious Turkey Burgers from this site. Definitely recommend these fries, and don't be afraid to play with the seasonings to suit your taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
385 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2007
These are great if you follow the recommendations of other reviewers. I used three sweet potatoes (there's only two of us, and we even had leftovers), cut them like fries, and tossed them with chili powder, garlic powder, fresh pepper, kosher salt, and 2 Tbsp. olive oil. I baked them for 40 minutes at 400 degrees (flipped them halfway), and they turned out so well and so healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
230 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
This recipe was good, but I made a different version. Instead of the taco seasoning, I used Lawry's seasoned salt. And olive oil, although tasty, isnt necessary. I just sprayed the pan with some nonstick cooking spray and that did the trick. Baked at 350 degrees for 20-25 minutes and they come out crispy on both sides after turning, delicious and super healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
167 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Niki

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2007
As per previous reviewers stated lower oven temp--I also changed spices up and have been making them as potato round with my crinkle cutter for years using just enough olive oil to toss with paprika spinkled on (sounds odd but its good!) have also just used french fry seasoning on them. Dunk in ketchup as desired! I swear by using Reynolds non stick foil and can get by with less olive oil--they get crisp faster with less oil and less baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
143 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2006
Who'd have thought that fries could taste so good AND be healthy?! To speed things up, I microwaved each sweet potato for about 2-3 min. (make sure you prick them several times with a fork to let the air out). This allowed me to only have to bake them for a half hour total time. Also, instead of using the spices the recipe called for, I used old bay seasoning (it's all I had at the time - and it's what I'll use from now on!) and everyone loved them! This will be a recipe I'll always come back to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
114 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Germantown, Maryland, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2006
MMmmmm. Tasty. I also lowered the cooking temp - 425 and cooked them for about 45 minutes. They weren't as crispy as deep fried one, but they had a slightly crisp exterior. The second time I made them, I steamed the potato sticks until nearly done, then put them in the over for about 20 minutes. Much quicker, and they seemed to crisp up more. DH loved them! Great dipped in cranberry-mustard sauce. Just mix canned cranberry with a good quality mustard. Honey-mustard is my favorite. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2005
i loved them. i used someones advise and used cinnimon, sugar and salt instead of the taco seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
Very tasty - I added in some extra seasonings - brown sugar, onion powder, paprika and cajun seasoning. I will make these again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chocokide

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 386) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

T's Sweet Potato Fries

Put a delicious and healthy spin on French fries.

Baked Sweet Potatoes

See a healthier take on classic baked potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States